Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

In accordance with a pragmatic perspective, the value of arts is equivocal as it appears, so that a large portion of people hold the assumption that practices of art are possessions of the bourgeoisie. Nevertheless art cannot be dispelled, due to its contribution to civilization and humanity. This essay is going to state two reasons why and how art has committed to the long-standing civilization.

Firstly, art has certain values of facilitating the ability to think, create, and understand the world. Admittedly, certain nations that are unable to afford art funding should focus more on the realms of policies that are aimed for the stabilization of living standards. Priority must be laid on the basic elements of living such as housing and minimal nutrition. Especially in times of difficulty, when the public is in the situation of wanting and poverty, basic economic supplies should be provided in order to maintain the perseverance of the population. Yet, those even in severe hunger rely on artistic cultures, such as singing, dancing, and storytelling. For instance, most of us are well informed of Anne’s diary, written by a young jewish girl during the Nazi regime. Most of the contents were filled with philosophical introspection in order to understand her existence together with a consideration of the political situation. Through efforts of creating art and literature, Anne had been able to bear the harshness of the era. That is, without art, people are unable to contemplate on the self and the others, by which they can incorporate themselves with their contemporaries. Thus, art is unquestionably indispensable despite its helplessness in practical issues.

Secondly, art can provide a milestone for basic ethics and values that support the existence of a nation. For instance, let’s look at the spread of Jazz culture in the United States during the mid 60s that prompted the acceptance of black community. While it was at first inhibited by the former legislative system, the U.S. government has decided to incorporate Black culture in order to flourish the ethics of cultural diversity. As a result, the United States now has become one of the standards for culture despite its relatively short history. Similarly, every nation has its own cultural symbol in order to strengthen its international reputation. Through activities of arts, citizens are able to feel a sense of affiliation and chauvinism. The power of art cannot be undermined due to its potential in forming collective activism, which may further be analogous to religious behaviors.

Furthermore, even according to practical approaches, national funding to arts can be beneficial to alleviating unemployment and dissatisfaction to the current state of living. The formation of the labor market can be fulfilled through providing jobs to a group of people who create and perform works of art. It is commonly said that types of people can be categorized into those who are intensively productive in creating economic values and others who are likely to contemplate on the contemporary world. If the former are able to earn for their livings through practical payment, the latter shall be provided a standard living through constant support from the community and nation.

To conclude, we may perceive art not only as an activity of providing insights for ideal principles but as a fundamental element that constitutes human culture. Thus, nations shall approach arts with a deliberate and diffident perspective so that history can be continued with civilizing thoughts and endeavors.