Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic to achieve a common goal

It is undeniable that collaboration and teamwork skills provide significant benefits for acquiring knowledge in college and university. However, it is still crucial to reconsider the tendency to prioritize group assignments over lecture-based instructions. For an education dominated by collaborative work gives students fewer chances to develop independent studying skills, gain arcane insights from conversant professors, thereby resulting in fewer students actually understanding the gist of the topic. This essay is going to present the following reasons as a way to qualify the significance of peer discussion.

Firstly, in group assignments it is usually the case that one person does most work and the remainders tend to freeload on the work done by a single person. It is not difficult to think of situations in which most people avoid the work due to their lack of interest, while only one or two students genuinely indulge in studying the given topic. Though it may not harm those who do the work thoroughly, the students who tend to freeload on others will be unlikely to learn anything. People who do the most work may get distressed due to the overload and excessive responsibilities. This will eventuate in reduced quality of learning and is counterproductive to achieving the desired goals. Furthermore, students within the group are likely to have diverse opinions and interests about the particular topic, which may encumber the progress of work. Not always do these differences evolve into constructive discourse, rather they may only incite severe conflicts and ongoing controversies. Therefore, the given assumption that collaboration and peer discussion in certain courseworks needs to be reconsidered in earnest, as there are certain counter effects of group assignments and may lead to negative results.

Secondly, lecturers are definitely more knowledgable than students as they have spent considerable amounts of time researching and teaching the same topic. Some lecturers nowadays even work outside the college hours in the field which they expertise. The professionalism and in-depth knowledge of lecturers can be shared with students, which is likely to be beneficial for them. In addition, with respect to scoring and examining the students’ works, lecturers do have better knowledge about the response types that are expected as exemplars.

Finally, traditional lecture-based instruction is preferable because proper domain knowledge on the given subject of matter is important. To illustrate, let us consider a case in which students gather information that is fetched from uncertified sources such as the internet and Social media. This may result in anything but an increase in knowledge as one cannot expect the internet to have reliable information. In addition, while it is efficacious in terms of accumulating a bountiful amount of information from these sources, sometimes too much information can be overwhelming and result in a lack of clarity. Thus there needs to be an instructor who provides proper guidelines in terms of ‘how’ to collect pertinent research materials, and moreover, ‘what’ to do with these materials.

In conclusion, although group assignments are found to be beneficial in certain perspectives, lecture-based instructions need to be accompanied to peer discussion in order to attain constructive viewpoints and sound knowledge. By considering the aforementioned factors, one can surely say that it isn’t possible without proper domain knowledge gained from professional lecturers. Thus, it is recommended to gain the balancing effects among both types of learning.