In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

The origin of the word “hero” derives from the mythical Greek character called Heracles. Son of Zeus, the so-called utmost god of the world, half-deified and half-human, he descends down from the sky, being audacious enough to save the seductive world. Similarly, we regard ‘heroes’ as the ones who dare to sacrifice their own lives to solve disasters and make the world come back to a peaceful state. The statement suggests that in the contemporary era no one can be regarded as heroes anymore because of the emerge and dissemination of media. However, if we look around our surroundings and the social demands, we might likely to find various figures who are labelled heroes of our time.

Admittedly, unlike the ancient and catholic times in history, we no longer venerate celestial or religious characters like gods or goddesses without any logical doubt. Even not until the end of 19th century have we entirely discarded a wholly christian belief when Friedrich Nietzsche contended that God has finally died(Got ist Tod). Although there are still a significant number of people who believe in certain religions, the sphere of the religious is strictly discerned to the sphere of everyday, social and political life. Similarly, unlike during the war time, heroic figures who are deemed as our protector and savior is no longer available either. The media shows every details of the gossips or daily routine of those idolized figures, so that they cannot be as arcane as they were before the time of mass media.

However, yet we can easily imagine a few political figures or celebrities who are deemed as the most popular and amenable person of our time. These aren’t called Heroes per se, but once if we look at their social function, we might realize that the public somehow depend on and show full respect towards them. For example, let us look into the world of entertainment in which there are numerous singers, actors and entertainers who are deemed as the Idols of our time. BTS, a well-known K-pop group has gained its popularity so as to be regarded the heroes that saved the Korean culture. Citizens of Korea admire their images, their songs and their existence due to their hard work to advertise the Korean cultures throughout the world.

Furthermore, we can also think about everyday routine figures who can be regarded as heroes. Then and now, there has been copious articles which have illustrated certain citizens who tried to sacrifice themselves in order to save other groups of person in times of disasters. For example, when the terrible 9-11 disaster had happened in 2001, numerous unidentified figures showed up in the live-streamed news broadcasting who went into the building in order to save people who were stuck. Therefore, even if these are not as known as the popular heroes of our time, we cannot doubt that their actions can be called heroic.

In conclusion, as long as there are still heroic actions that are trying to make the world at least an inch better than before, we can not assume that the existence of heroes is not possible anymore. Even right now, there might be numerous small heroes who sacrifice their lives taking care of their loved ones.