The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given statement asserts that Super Screen Movie Production Company should increase the percentage of their budget for more advertising in order to

increase public awareness and succeed in marketing strategies. Although the author gives several evidence and assumptions to support the argument, the opinion seems rather frail due to the lack of correlation between the evidence and the assumption. In order to evaluate the argument more properly, the following questions should be answered.

Firstly, does the recent report mentioned in the passage pertain enough representativeness in order to support the assumption? Even though the author suggests that the report is reliable enough in terms of representing the average usage of Super Screen-produced movies, the original source of the 'recent report' lack reliability due to the fact that it is not clearly stated. If the report concerns only particular regions of the whole consumer market, then the report may not represent the total pattern of usage. Thus, even though it is stated that fewer people attended Super Screen than in any other year, the author should have made it distinct that the report is reliable enough.

Secondly, are there any other potential reasons for the decrease of usage of Super Screen-produced movies? Even though we acknoledge the assumption that the report holds representiveness, the author should have made it more compelling that the reasons for the decrease of usage are attributed to the policies of the company itself. That is, if the decrease stemmed from the abrupt change in the overall movie market due to public disasters or economic difficulty, then the company shall not make the decrease as a significant failure of the marketing.

Thirdly, even if we admit that the decrease of the usage is due to lack of marketing skills and management of the company, the author has to clarify the specific factors of the lack of usage. For, the author's assumption that lack of awareness led to the low rate of consumption does not have any grounds. If the positive reviews towards the contents are only due to some factors that attracted maniacs of the contents, then it should be more important to enhance the overall quality of the movies or at least widen the spectrum of what the company is producing. Thus, it may not be true that increasing the awareness results to the an increased profit. As a consequence, it may produce even more loss in the net gain of the company due to an increase of the cost for advertising.

In conclusion, even though the author's assumption seem sound and reasonable at first glance, the argument shall be denounced unless the author clarifies the aforementioned questions concerning the reliability of these assumptions.