A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

It has been a significant controversy whether educational service should be provided to all citizens ever since the emergence of the concept of modern nation. Although it takes a considerable amount of research in terms of evaluating the specific history of national implementations of education, it shall be not so difficult to assess the fundamental risks and potential harms that result from standardized national curriculum. This essay will demonstrate several evidence and reasons why problems outweigh the advantages of such a governmental strategy.

To begin with, some may argue that national curricula are likely to alleviate the social, cultural and economical inequality among citizens. As Pierre Bourdieu states, there exists a signicant correlation between social mobility and education. That is, if the nation, functioning as a subject who is in charge of alleviating capital inequality, does not intervene the specific fields of basic needs, it is likely that stratification of the society will be solidified and the democratic ethics might be consequentially harmed. Thus, it is acknowledgeable that governments have the responsibility in enhancing the basic suppliants of educational means to all citizens, which is mostly implemented in an uniform way.

Nevertheless, applying national curriculim to all students contain serious risks as the contents of education will be consisted of full of ideological propaganda. For example, we are informed that the Soviet Union has been collapsed due to intense corruption and a misfeasance of management. One of the many reasons why the governmental management was not efficient was that the educational policies contained only the materials that highly praises the current regime, instead of providing the people with tools for critical thoughs and evaluations. The means of national education are in many times as a function to infuse people the ideology. Therefore, if the requirement of studying the same national curriculum is realized, it may be risky in the long-term, as people might lose sight of critically analyzing the position of themselves and the nation as well.

Furthermore, providing the same tools to all students may cause a falsified illusion that the society is equal and fair to everyone, so that the myth of fairness shall mislead to neglecting the essential problems of social structure. Even though it shall be an important manual to strive for the ethics of fairness, only by providing the basic materials equally does not lead to a society in which equality has been achieved. For instance, students with affluent infrastructure and a benevolent family environment are likely to show great accomplishments compared to students who lack such elements. That is, it is indeed the ability to utilize the materials that determines the levels of being educated, and in many cases it is determined by exterior support.

The conclusion now stands that providing the same national curriculum to every student may be one option to enhance the basic living conditions of the citizens, nevertheless it contains several serious problems and risks when implemented. The essay illustrated several factors of such risks and strongly disagrees that education should not be simply done through uniformed contents.