Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Representatives of a nation are obliged to pursue the public's well-being and the basic standard of life. Furthermore, as their idiosyncrasy derives from the fact that their positions are decided through election, politicians should always be alerted by how much popularity has (s)he gained, which group of people does (s)he represent, and how much influence has (s)he been giving to the society as whole. In other words, politicians should not only reflect the people’s (common) opinion and general tendencies but also suggest the overall principles in order to provide the citizens a clear direction in which ethics the society has to pursue. The essay will provide following examples and evidence in order to support the argument that both practicality and idealism should be equally regarded as important factors in managing one’s political careers.

Admittedly, politicians are obliged to establish a common ground, taking the initiative in resolving possible controversies due to the mere fact that they have been elected through decision by majority. Especially in times of difficulty, it is their responsibility to fulfill the elements of living conditions such as housing, employment, and daily necessities, rather than arousing potential conflicts by countering the public’s common interest. For example, Franklin D. Roosevelt, known by the initials of his name FDR, succeeded in overcoming the nationwide economic hardship during his presidency by implementing the New Deal Policy. New Deal policy allowed him to extend his pragmatism in regards to giving shelter to the U.S. citizens and resolving unemployment. Den Xiaoping, the political head of China in the 1960s has also become a symbolic figure for taking care of the country’s well-being and nourishing the living conditions of the people. Thus, it is reasonable to argue that it is the utmost duty of a politician to take care of the maintenance and economic prosperity of the country.

However, the element of basic living may only be a half answer in evaluating the role of a politician. Although ambiguous ideals are likely to result in further confusion, nevertheless a community can only be stabilized through the ethics that unifies the diverse groups within the society. For instance, without the emancipation proclamation issued by the former president Abraham Lincoln, it might have been difficult to envisage the cultural identity of the United States which underscores that every citizen should be treated equally regardless of one's gender, race, and sexuality. He is known for his firm action in abjuring slavery which, in his time, faced tremendous opposition. While practical survival and well-being of the public are the main factors that establish the basic pertinence of a country, the strength of a nation comes from the fact that the people share powerful ethics.

Furthermore, idealistic goals raised by political leaders can also be a milestone for enhancing international relationships with other countries. Devastating events committed by Imperialists during the mid 20th century gave humanity a significant lesson not to violate the essence of human dignity. While the national value of Japan fell behind due to the fact that they refused to admit their criminal actions against other nations, Germany has become the leading figure of the European continent by fully acknowledging the historical misbehavior and unhesitantly apologizing to their victims. In the midst of the reconciling efforts stood Willy Brandt, who dared to take full responsibility for the past deeds. In this context, we may realize that political leaders play a significant role in deciding the reputation of the nation.

We may conclude now that a balancing approach between pragmatism and idealism in political management shall be required. The former consist of the basic standards of living of the citizens, while the latter stands for the identification and ethics of the nation.