Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

As transition from high school to college is regarded as a lifetime experience in terms of looking at educational options, there has been an ongoing dispute on whether college and universities’ roles are to provide programs allowing students to have holistic viewpoints on various fields of studies or rather to guide them to focus on a typical study and strengthen their expertise. The statement recommends that universities give students the drive force to look into the various fields of studies. The recommendation presents a view that I would agree is adoptable in general, but one that I cannot fully support due to its compulsory impression it gives. In this argument, I will state two main reasons in order to clarify the point that I am willing to choose.

To begin, there has been a dramatic increase in interest to interdisciplinary studies with social impact across all fields, and both students and faculty members of universities observe the need to make connections across and between disciplines. Thus, to stick solely with one’s particular field of study is to take a limited understanding, one that will likely fall into a state of anachronism. For instance, as COVID-19 brought a wave of shock as it swept the world and forced us to alter our lifestyles in more ways than one, it has opened the window to changes in research towards tackling societal challenges that require a more cross-disciplinary and long-term perspective. While we turn to the biological sciences to sequence the virus’ genome and look to create a vaccine, we must also think economically, environmentally, psychologically, and sociologically about this viral attack. That is, it has become unthinkable to wrap our heads around the economic, mental, social, and environmental debris left without an intersection of several insights from various fields of studies. With a complex systems approach, interdisciplinary studies generates a better understanding of the world as it brings together various disciplines to work together and tackle complex problems. Thus, only becoming an expertise within a single field shall lack of tool as it comes to facing and dealing with the challenges of our times.

Further, even if we assume that the need for broad understanding in various fields is not particularly necessary, universities are still required to offer programs of comprehensive introductory outside one’s specific field because a large group of the students who have just been admitted to school tend to be enrolled in certain majors that were chosen without serious consideration and understanding of the wide spectrum of academic fields. For instance, if a student chose computer programming solely due to a pragmatic point of view in order to jump into a lucrative job market, she might be likely to change her major once she finds out that she’s capable in another field. As many researches have shown that personal satisfaction in one’s field may lead to a stable and successful career as well, it is crucial to enhance the probability of choosing a major that fits the student the most. In other words, by offering students courses from various departments of studies, students are open to find more favorable choices in designing and pursuing one’s own career.

Nevertheless, we shall still be wary of making it a mandatory for students to take exterior courses, since the sense of obligation may weaken his or her eagerness in learning outside of one’s expected curricular boundaries. In addition, with a vast amount of syllabus, student’s capability might not be able to afford extra burden in taking time consuming and challenging courses. Thus, perhaps a better way to phrase this statement would be to say, “Universities shall promote as many programs as to offering students a variety of courses outside the student’s fields of studies”.