Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty

There has been an ongoing dispute among several university department faculties and foundations whether researches should be funded in terms of immediate outcome or by a respect of the long-term imagination of humanity. The statement claims that researches should not depend solely on its practicality because of the uncertainty of results. I stand at the point of full agreement, regarding the essence of the existence of academia.

To begin with, some argue that one of the major challenges of any field of research is to get a sufficient amount of research funds from affiliated foundations. Looking at the long-term gains does not fulfill the immediate requirements that the foundations of supplementary funding might ask for. That is, there needs to be a specific goal that can be attained within a limited period of funding, thereby resulting to seek for immediate and practical application. This is understandable, when we look into the current phase and condition of academia throughout the world. The tendency of most studies rely on practicality, so that numerous researches consist of handful surveys or experiments together with the short-term results that are likely to be shown in the studies. As a result, studies in Humanities with philosophical approaches which are likely to be esoteric than the practical ones tend to fall short in number compared to the earlier decades. However, this severely threatens the essence of study as researches are not about writing short reports in order to clarify the raw profits of a single corporation.

Assume that there are two candidates who are looking for research fundings in order to support each of their studies. One, who is working for a corporative program which targets on heightening the efficiency of its activity, might submit a research plan that persuades the panels how efficient and practical the program might be once initiated. The candidate would be likely to induce them by saying that the research funding might be a practical investment for immediate creations of financial value. On the other hand, the other candidate, who is studying art theories of a French philosopher, might apply for funding by assuaging the panels how valuable the study might be in long-term history. It is likely that the former candidate has a bigger chance to be selected. But at this point, we need to reconsider the extant of research based studies.

In the era of the ever changing culture and economy, researches may be the only ones who might be able to initiate an in-depth investigation on several types of fields. Ensuring the researchers to investigate within a stable and sound atmosphere is a necessary condition in order to discover valuable findings. Furthermore, not a single field of study is made solely by practical approaches, since it may harm the essential ethics and long-term directionality of each academia. For example, the Nobel winning chemist Ei-ichi Negishi, who had just passed away several weeks ago, he has, in one of his interview, admittedly noted that his studies might not have successfully done if he had not investigated in a fully supportive environment, which may consist of a full funding, sufficient materials, and a bountiful amount of time to do research. Although this may the case only for a handful privileged researchers, it is unquestionable that limiting the researches to areas of pragmatism and short-term is not a prerequisite, but even an obstacle for sound studies.

Thus, considering the uncertainty of the results of researches, researchers need to inquire their studies based on thorough care and effort.