In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

We now live in an era filled with excessive infusion of media products. From daybreaking until midnight, and even until the next day’s dawn, we obsessively grasp our cellphones in order to get connected to the world beyond reality. The statement above illustrates the influence of media upon the shortliving of contemporary heroes due to the development of media techniques. However, this argument can only be half-true considering the potential and ambivalence of such media. This essay is going to demonstrate the traits of media and the influence on its society in order to illuminate the fact that media can both produce and destroy a figurative hero.

Firstly, intensive media coverage hampers the longevity of an emblematic person due to its frequent transgression on personal lives. As we are exposed to gossipping news on celebrities and well-known figures, it is likely that the mystication of a fixed image of the person can be easily destroyed. Most of the public are keen to be informed how the mass-media pop stars actually behave in real life. Dispatches and paparazzis gather as much details of the celebrities’ lives as they could, so that the public could pay attention to the deceptive personalities of these stars. As a result, the living heroes can be easily demystified and people might be somehow disappointed in such quotidian patterns of the so-called heroes.

Furthermore, nobody can be morally perfect, yet these moral issues are easily divulged throughout the world via the media. As the media nowadays can narrow the gap between the virtual and real life, the contemporary figures are likely to show slight errors in their behaviors and attitudes toward the others. For instance, Bill Clinton, the former president of the United States, who once was a heroic figure among the entire group of citizens, became a falling star in a single day. As his misbehavior was exposed to the whole world through the media, several other misconducts were uncovered and was being easily mocked and parodized as the dismal privileged male. Thus we may infer that the media has led us to the phase in which even heroic figures can be disregarded once their ill-tempered, misbehaved deeds are being caught on the lenses of the media.

However, it has also become a bare fact that heroes can be made out of a day through the immediate spread of information. Interactive media products such as Instagram, Facebook, and youtube, have caused the public to seek public attention with their visual, or talented aspects. Day by day, instagram shows us unanimous persons who are talented in specific fields, attracting our attention and affection. Also, most of us are familiar with the word ‘youtube star’ as some persons who fully utilized the online platform gained numerous likes became heroes among teenagers and other certain groups of people. Thus it has become clear that heroes are not only a handful of people who have been exposed on books or televisions but also unspecified individuals who are seeking attention through their singularities. Therefore, the media can become an efficient tool for people to gain popularity and fame, and eventually become idols of mass groups of people.

Thus, the conclusion now stands that the media has its ambivalent trait that socially acknowledged heroes can be vituperate even by miniscule issues, while the nobodies can become popstars through a single spotlight. The context of living heroes have become more flexible than ever, so that nobodies then can become heroes today.