If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

In the fast pace of contemporary society, we are mostly exposed to harsh competence and are used to the so-called ‘winner takes it all’ system. That is, unless we meet the expectation by achieving certain goals, the chances are unlikely to come again. Yet, it is still important to notice that the means should not be neglected in terms of achieving tasks. This essay is going to emphasize the consequential value of means and processes by providing several pieces of evidence.

Firstly, even if the process may be slow and tortuous compared to a visible shortcut, bearing in mind the specific ways of achievements and trying not to go beyond moral principles and ethics should be put on priority. This is so because, even in a pragmatic view point, processes may gain its value more than the results that are observed in the long term. Take the example of the Soviet Union and other socialist countries which lost their power in the end. Even though their eventual goals were innovative and utopian, the specific steps in terms of achieving the task were neglected in most circumstances. As a result, the public, even though not visible at first glance, turned their back against the communist government because of the spartan way of disciplining the people. As the people were punished and being scrutinized in their everyday life, the public health went into misery and fell into poverty due to lack of enthusiasm, notwithstanding their full consent with the high ideals and principles. Thus, it can be inferred that democratic and transient means shall not be overlooked when trying to reach the eventual good.

Secondly, even if some argue that every behavior for change has inevitable costs and sacrifices so that these costs can be easily justified, it is important because improper means are likely to be misused in the future. This is a phenomenon that we can observe now in the Korean peninsula. Even though the citizens gained their power through protests in 2016 and achieved the goal to impeach a president who showed extreme corruptcy during her presidency, now there are groups of people who are trying to retain the power and give support to the former president by holding numerous protests and riots. These people have been using the same way of dispelling the personal issues of the opposite side of political power and spreading false news that are unreliable and erroneous. The citizens have now learned that their means for impeachment were unjust and falsified in many cases. As a result, the current political landscape has become as chaotic as it was several years ago, and the political parties have divided into two by dwelling into useless fights and conflicts. It is said that if the means had been fair and proper enough at the former incidents, the current dispute might not have occurred. Thus, in order to maintain a desirable and sustainable society, one has to make sure that the means have been just enough.

In conclusion, even if the goals can be defined as worthy and timely enough to be achieved, it is important not to lose track and keep the process within the boundary of ethics and dignity.