Teacher’s salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance

Even though the basic principle as being a teacher is the ability to properly encourage, conduct, and evaluate the students, salaries should be handled in a different dynamic due to the potential risks of harsh competence not only among students but also teachers. That is, the costs could be greater than the benefits when the students’ performance becomes a definitive factor in deciding one’s salary. This essay is going to argue possible misleadings of implementing the policies as shown in the statement.

Firstly, if the salaries are decided according to the students’ performance, the teachers are likely to favor those who have advanced grades over the neglected ones who have some difficulty in adapting to the school system. That may not be due to a personal predilection, considering the fact that if their salaries go down then the teachers would probably lose their basic elements of living.

Admittedly, in principle it is the teacher’s responsibility to enhance students’ general attitudes and performances in classrooms. Teachers are obliged to be adept and vigilant enough in conducting their students’ behaviors, so that the students can be provided with sufficient materials in terms of enhancing their performance. Nevertheless, if these duties become affiliated with one’s occupational survival, the results may bring several severe side effects including the deterioration of student-teacher relationships. That is, as most teachers might compete among one another in order to have the most privileged students in their classrooms, they are likely to be reluctant in including students who are difficult to teach, such as those in disability over extreme poverty. Thus, it is not a recommendable policy when considering the ethics of teachers to be impartial to every student.

Furthermore, teachers might fail in some part enhancing their students’ performances, especially in circumstances when the students are in the age of being rebellious and recalcitrant against the authorities. There are obviously specific ranges of ages in which teaching becomes a challenging task. In that case, the foremost goal for the teacher might not be focused on the students’ grade but rather in coming along well with them and forming a benign environment to the students who are now in an anxious position. For instance, a well-made film “the educator” depicts how teachers are being mentally tortured by her students who are teasing and making fun of the relatively less charismatic personality of the teacher. The main character of the film shows how stressful it may become when he or she is not patriarchal or charismatic enough to tame students. In other words, it can be said that the difficulty of teaching and educating may differ according to the specific grades and groups of students in the classroom. Thus, being paid in terms of students’ performance can be advantageous to some teachers while for others it may not be.

Thus, it turns out that the salaries should not be evaluated or moderated through an inspection of the student’s behaviors but instead be fairly distributed regardless of factors that may be impossible to control in hand. The essay tried to emphasize the point by providing several circumstances that might result in misleading effects.