“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memorandum asserts that the television stations should restore their time distributed for weather forecasts and local news to the former level in order to attract viewers to the program and preserve the current advertising revenues. The argument is supported by several evidence and assumptions stated and unstated in the paragraph, nevertherless the assumptions leave significant doubts and questions that need to be clarified. This essay will demonstrate specific evidence required in order to maintain his or her original stance.

Firstly, the author assumes that less proportions in weather and local news caused a significant rise of complaints. However, the assumption that the number of the complaints were crucial enough for consideration calls for additional evidence. If the numbers of complaints for weather and local news coverage had been only a handful amount, and if the total amount of complaints had in fact been reduced, then it is unlikely that viewers became unsatisfied with the change of coverage. That is, the author should have provided the absolute amount of complaints together with the information of the change in number during the past year. Thus, in order to hold up the assumption, additional evidence is required in terms of data.

Secondly, even though the author contends that the cancellation of local businesses was due to the decreased visibility of their advertisements, it is still not clear whether the cancellation was due to various other factors. For instance, if the local businesses had decided to cancel their contracts with the television station because of an abrupt change in coverage without any previous announements, then it may not be a clever idea to adjust the program once more. As long as credibility and confidence function as a crucial factor in terms of the contract relationship, the television business manager should have considered various elements in their way how to intrigue local businesses without losing credit. Thus, it is recommended that the memorandum provides additional data in regard to the various reasons of the contract cancelation.

Thirdly, the author rushes to the conclusion on the basis of the assumption that restoring the coverage to its former level shall be the best solution in order to recover the contracts and enhance viewers' satisfaction. However, it is doubtful whether the given proposal results indeed to positive outcomes. For, as I already mentioned above, hactic changes in the coverage of the news programs would lose stability and confidence. In addition, considering the importance of late-night news programs in terms of informing the viewers accurate contents of the news, the author should have paid more attention to the actual quality of the news being broadcasted. Thus, the proposal shall be supported by further evaluation in order to hold its soundness.

In conclusion, due to unsupported and misleading assumptions, the argument may easily fall into inaccurate predictions and judgements. The author should therefore be equipped with more specific evidence and detailed factors in terms of supporting his argument.