As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The statement assumes that the complexity of current life with various social interaction is attributable to a formidable amount of accumulating knowledge. Although it seems plausible to consider whether I agree or disagree with the statement at first glance, it indeed arouses several sets of doubts before positing my argument. That is, we need to be wary of the presumption that we are indeed acquiring more knowledge compared to the past.

To begin, especially for those who might prefer to agree with the statement would be likely to argue the various means of acquiring new information, including online sources such as YouTube, Wikipedia, and numerous informational posts that are uploaded by our neighbors on social media. However, information and knowledge has substantial differences in terms of acknowledging it as a social fact. A social fact is something that has gained enough authority and validity in order to be deemed as credible and thoroughly verified. In other words, we don’t ascertain a piece of informing data depicting an image of a flying UFO in the middle of the sky a fact that UFOs and life in outer space exist in real life. Similarly, a piece of information posted by uncle Tom on Facebook - although it seemingly is analogous to - is different from news articles posted on New York Times, or on other authoritative journals. That is, the mere fact that there are growing numbers of informational sites cannot be equal to the fact that we are acquiring more knowledge. Information has to be socially discussed and confirmed in order to act as a knowledge or social fact. Yet it is not surprising that many are confused with discriminating information and knowledge, as there are numerous scandals on issues that have contradictory evidence from unknown sources.

For example, a well-known, tragic incident that happened in Gwang-ju, South Korea on May 18 of 1980 has gained constant attention to the public until now, as there are several gossiping attempts to nullify its historical importance and instead activate arbitrary partisanship. Although, the massacre in Gwang-ju has gained enough factual evidence through thorough investigation and testimony to understand it as a historical event, there are handful people arguing that it had never have happened or it was a plan launched by the North Korean members, by posting conspiracy videos on YouTube. That is the case which makes people confused and regard the current time as complex, but this is not due to an accumulation of knowledge but instead to the state of our current time that cannot discern arguments and knowledges.

Thus, we should pose a question on whether we are in fact acquiring more knowledge in general. The current era is identified as the post-Cold War era, or in a more cultural aspect, the post-modern are, which is characterized as a significant period in which history is reevaluated and the already acknowledged facts are constantly being asked with skepticism. Thus, it might seem natural that most of the common people nowadays are feeling a sense of confusion and complexity. Instead of reaching to a rash conclusion and comprehend the past events with homogeneous perspective, various thoughts and opinions that had originally been oppressed due to the restraint political atmosphere are gaining voice. As it is so, we may be wary of being impetuous, and instead take time to reconsider the given facts.

In conclusion, although I agree with the diagnosis that we are living in a complex, mysterious, and incomprehensible world, the main culprit of the atmosphere is not due to the fact that we acquire more knowledge, but that we are reevaluating and rethinking the given history that has been a series of ongoing war and violence.