The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is argued in the given memorandum that there is no need to construct an extra electric generating plant on the basis of several conditions and assumptions. One of the many reasons in support for the argument is that more home owners, manufacturers, and newly emerging technologies resonate to the need for conserving energy than before. However, the assumptions lack significant details, leaving uncertainty in properly evaluating the argument. The following are the assumptions and alternative explanations in terms of illuminating the validity of the statement.

Firstly, although the author provides several recent surveys in order to convince the readers that home owners are likely to conserve more energy than before, it is improper to apply the results to the region that may not be directly connected to the respondents of the survey. If the targeted interviewees are not identical to the region that is now being investigated, then the result may lose its validity. Furthermore, even if the home owners in the town have actually responded as provided in the article, it may be possible that the actual residents of the town are mostly tenants who are there for rental. That is, if the residents are not willing to conserve energy as the home owners did, then the rate of energy usage is unlikely to decrease.

Secondly, although it is said that manufacturers are marketing many more energy efficient home appliances than before and new technologies are available in the market, the author has to ascertain whether the marketing resulted in actual purchase. If the facilities introduced are costly and inefficient in other terms, then the customers are not likely to purchase the products. Thus, the author should clarify the connection between marketing efforts to the actual amount of sales by providing additional evidence that stands as a fact.

Thirdly, even though the author contends that the total demand for electricity will not increase or may even slightly decrease, it is unclear whether it shall be realized as projected. For example, even if the residents in the area will try to use less energy by purchasing energy efficient home appliances, if there is a significant rise in population in the given area due to external factors, then the amount of energy usage will possibly rise instead of fall. Thus, the author has to make sure if there are no other factors affiliated to the circumstance which may give potential influence to the amount of energy usage.

Finally, albeit every assumption provided above being true, there still needs to be further evidence in terms of investigating the sustainability of the established generating plants. Since it is, in the memorandum, stated that the plants had been operated more than 20 years by now, the life expectancy of the facilities might be doomed to finish in the near future. If this holds water, then an additional construction becomes necessary despite the fact that the previous generating plants had met our needs. Therefore, the author ought to verify whether the plants will be able to operate in the coming future as well.

The conclusion now stands that the argument stated in the memorandum contains several fallacies that might result in misleading effects. In order to evaluate the assumptions provided, the author should reconsider and supplement the aforementioned factors that are regarded as invalid.