People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Taking risks in terms of individual behavior normally means producing significant costs that might urge one to be fully responsible. That is, risky actions are rarely undertaken without a strong motivation or inevitable circumstances. When faced by decisive moments, it is rather safer and wiser to think twice before taking action than just committing oneself directly to the task. Still, in certain situations that require immediate efforts or collective behavior, such actions may be regarded as mandatory that may lead to an enhancement of human conditions. The essay will provide evidence in evaluating both sides in order to gain balancing viewpoints and achieve rightful assessment.

To begin with, the recommendation seems plausible in general circumstances in which devastating consequences are predicted. Especially in times of modern culture, it can be suggested that we shall be aware that once becoming adults the responsibility lies on ourselves once our deeds are done. The fact that our everydays are filled with numerous chances for change urges us not only to recognize the freedom to choose but also to admit that we are in charge of accepting the results. Therefore, the famous phrase, “think twice before taking any action” can be a helpful motto in particular to civilized individuals.

On the other hand, however, some circumstances often require quick responses and do not offer sufficient time to ponder on the matter at length. It is unlikely that when given enough time to consider, many heroic deeds might not have been done. Take for example the 911 terror that happened in the middle of Manhattan, New York. Those who were stuck in the building lacked the strength to escape and save themselves. At the moment, several bypassing citizens delved into the collapsed buildings in order to give help to the victims. Such a reaction could have been done because it lacked conscious thoughts or sufficient consideration, which otherwise would have lost its proper timing in grasping the chance to save the people involved.

Similarly, many innovative entrepreneurs today have taken risky actions before reaching a conclusive and promising outlook. Having a strong belief in their ideas, while the others presumed them as absurd, well known CEOs such as Steve Jobs of Apple or Jeff Bezos of Amazon.com changed the world by creating new businesses that no one else had thought of before. Prompt reaction to the public market and unmatched enthusiasm led them to risky actions but ended up with great success in wealth and prosperity.

Nonetheless, in favor of preventing fanaticism and fascist movements, we shall be well informed by the perilous elements of potential violence hidden beneath spontaneous behaviors. History has shown how human species can become tremendously atrocious through calamity done by drives of instincts. For instance, as the Nazi Regime emerged in the political mainstream, the majority of the German public ardently raged against the Jewish who were convicted as the main culprit of the economical crisis. Considering that such recklessness resulted to holocaust and a loss of humanity, it is unreasonable not to mention that passion and enthusiasm caused by taking risks is may lead to irrevokable catastrophe to human species.

Thus, we may conclude that taking risks in certain situations may sometimes lead to innovation or salvation but can also result in invaluable costs that cannot be redeemed nor reimbursed.