The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that additional construction of generating plants is not necessary, due to assumptions that are both stated and unstated in the memorandum. Although the evidence suggested seems cogent at first glance, the conclusion should undergo significant revision unless it evaluates the reliability of the given reasons. This essay will demonstrate several issues of incongruous factors that are intended to buttress the author’s idea, by clarifying and examining the assumptions.

To begin with, the author depends on the assumption that homeowners who are eager to conserve energy are likely to implement change in terms of their actual usage of electricity. The given surveys provide only the growing tendency of fondness in energy preservation, which does not mean that the home owners will apply their thoughts into practice. Furthermore, if we ponder upon the uncertainty whether the home owners are actual residents of the area, it becomes even more ambiguous in terms of how much energy conservation shall be held. Thus, only given an indication of a growing desire, the assumption shall rather result in fallacies and misleading prescriptions of the potential actions of energy preservation.

Secondly, the author implies that homeowners will play a significant role in purchasing the home appliances being currently marketed by manufacturers, but it is still possible that they will not. That is, even though home appliances that are energy efficient are visible and attractive to the homeowners, it is unlikely that this will directly lead to purchasing actions. There are still other possibilities that hamper the realization of purchase, such as the well-equipped conditions of original home appliances, or an unaffordable amount of price of the newly marketed ones. Therefore, the author should have provided additional evidence in terms of linking the availability of energy efficient home appliances and the rise of actual purchase.

Thirdly, notwithstanding the fact that new technologies that reduce energy of home heating have been developed, we can never be certain whether the technologies can be applied to the residual area. If the housing does not afford the newly developed home devices and if the technologies are only able to be applied to future constructed housings, then the assumption shall be neglected.

Furthermore, more importantly, even though we acknowledge the above assumptions as bare facts, the author does not give any detailed evidence in terms of the exterior factors that are likely to impact the demand for electricity. That is, if the population of the residual area has been constantly growing, then the usage of electricity will be intensified as well. Thus, the author should have made it clear that the evidence mentioned are the only influential factors that result in the change of electric usage.

It is therefore crucial to clarify the aforementioned assumptions that lack tenable evidence and reasons. In order to evaluate the memorandum more discernibly, the author should have undergone a thorough review of what is being argued.