Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Several months ago, Greta Thunberg, a young activist who has been constantly urging the institutionalized members to take measure in stopping current environmental issues, held a speech in a conference room located in one of the United States buildings. She was precipitated in fury and anger as she was listing the catastrophic phase of the climate disaster that was caused by the adults. Her speech was being live-broadcasted, after which the audience throughout the world started to gain voice in terms of promoting actions for movements towards an environmentally friendly way of life.

The assumption of the statement lies on the identical issue, since big corporations nowadays are the main culprit of leading the so-called Anthroposcene that we are residing in. In fact, the belief that corporations are driven to gaining financial profit originates to the Era of Industrialism, specifically in the beginning of 19th century, when countries in Europe and America flourished due to international trades of merchants. Those merchants have evolved to the emergence of corporations, so that now there are numerous independent development and trading being initiated by the corporations. Meanwhile, it has become almost impossible not to face the updated news on climate change, global warming, and fluctuations of the overall ecology as we try to connect ourselves to the world via mass social media. Although there are handful numbers of people arguing that these issues are still minor enough to neglect and keep the already established way of life going on, alerted minds who are trying to monitor the measurements of major corporations throughout the world have been continuously gaining size. The measurements not only include the abusive usage of natural resources but also exploitation of labor in the underdeveloped countries. For example, H&M, one of the main fashion industries who has the most proportion of the overall revenue was accused for labor exploitation and misusing materials in producing the fabric. The corporation reacted as promulgating an essential change in the product chain as the consumer groups have urged it to.

Similarly, countries, affiliated with the United Nations, have mostly agreed to the resolution on monitoring corporations for the overall well-being of the society and the environment, even though there were some complaints of the developing countries who were willing to support unhindered industrial development. The conflict is ongoing, while the awareness of the public have risen to actively promote environmental friendly chain of production. Therefore, even standing in the shoes of the corporates, it is expected that the factors that are related to making profits, such as the brand image, the specific products, and the process of production, will be significantly influenced by the consumers’ need, so that it shall be more beneficial to hold responsibility in promoting well-being.

In conclusion, facing the era of immediate climate change and vast amount of need for taking more responsibility in participating the economical sphere, it is crucial to pay attention what the customers, the main group of public, are calling for.