The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Only by having a glimpse in today's news articles can we realize that the contemporary world is filled with countless controversies and changes throughout all parts of life. Even though, on the surface it may seem that we are living in a convenient life with systemized order, ceaseless inquiries and participation in politics by the citizens have been changing the world significantly. This essay is going to demonstrate the aspects of the anti-authoritative movements that are being held in various forms.

Firstly, as authority has its flaws within, movements against the power is imperative in order not to let the society fall into corruptcy. Looking back to our modernized civilization, the systems of society have radically changed through collective movements and protests. For instance, not to mention the Spring of Prague, 68 revolution, Black movements and the major Feminism waves, striking ideas in order to solve the current problems, acquisition of civil rights, and turning over the corrupt system that aggravates corruption were all being done by numerous collective movements that happened within the urbanized cities. Especially, the civil rights of minority groups of people were surprisingly enhanced throughout recent centuries. In other words, it can be proudly said that society could be enhanced not by achievements done by a handful of intellectuals but by the whole community who had committed time and effort in taking part in political actions.

Nevertheless, ongoing controversy due to ceaseless riots and protests may be harmful as well as they can cause disorder and a high proportion of criminal deeds. When the power loses its control and the social structure is in precarious condition, then people who have been willing to take any advantage from the common goods are likely to commit crimes. Further, violence tends to occur and people in the most marginal groups may become the biggest victims in the end. Thus, it is not always useful and encouraged to take part in anti-authoritative actions when it is not alarming enough to raise the particular issue.

For instance, the recent riots by pro-conservationists and Neo Nazis in the United States resulted in severe damage to public goods and human resources. Also, some terrorists’ attack in several urbanized spots had also been committed as an action of collapsing the government that is arguably corrupted. Even though for those who are participants it may be an imminent issue that needs to be changed in practice, it hampers the basic standard of safety by destabilizing the well-being of the citizens. Thus, such movements should always be done in awareness of the risks of mistakenly taking innocent lives and should be proceeded only when the authority is doing more harm than it is removed. In other words, order is indispensable in most cases and people need to have a shelter where they are protected enough.

In conclusion, the statement needs to be reconsidered in terms of the potential damages that those movements can cause although their achievements may lead to a radical change and emancipation of groups of the oppressed. That is, even though this essay acknowledges the significance and the necessity of collective anti-authority movements, it does argue that the recklessness of these actions could harm the community by accelerating disorder and violence.