As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The statement assumes that the complexity of current life with various social interaction is attributable to a formidable amount of accumulating knowledge. Although it seems plausible to take consideration whether I agree or disagree with the statement according to a logical assessment, it indeed arouses several sets of doubts before positing my argument. That is, we need to be wary of the presumption that we are acquiring more knowledge compared to the past and clarify the validity of it.

To begin, especially for those who might prefer to agree with the statement would be likely to argue the various means of acquiring new information, including online sources such as YouTube, Wikipedia, and numerous informational posts that are uploaded by our neighbors on social media. However, information and knowledge has substantial differences in terms of acknowledging it as a social fact. A social fact is something that have gained enough authority and validity in order to be deemed as credible and thoroughly verified. A piece of informing data that depicts an image of a flying UFO in the middle of the sky does not mean that UFOs and life in outer space exist in real life. Similarly, a piece of information posted by uncle Tom on Facebook - although it seemingly is analogous to - is different to a news article posted on New York Times, or in other authoritative journals. That is, the mere fact that there are growing numbers of informational sites cannot be equal to the fact that we are acquiring more knowledge. Information has to be socially discussed and confirmed in order to act as a knowledge or social fact. Yet it is not surprising that many are confused with discriminating information with knowledge, as there are numerous scandals on issues that have contradictory disputes.

For example, a well-known, tragic incident that happened in Gwang-ju, South Korea in May 18 of 1980 has gained attention to the public until now, as there are several gossiping attempts to nullify the politics that was going around it. Although, the massacre in Gwang-ju has gained enough factual evidence and is understood as a historical event, there are handful people arguing that it had never have happened or it was a plan launched by the North Korean members posting videos on YouTube in order to make the knowledge invalid. That is the case which makes people confused and regard the current time as complex, but this is not due to an accumulation of knowledge but instead to the state of our current mind that cannot discern arguments and knowledges.