The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Throughout the history, societies have recklessly struggled for enhancing the well-beings of people in order to sustain a territorial regime. Especially when it comes to the politics of a state, it is the main responsibility of the government to take care of the public's physical and mental health. The statement underscores this duty of providing basic needs of lives as a standard of an effectual governing. However, even though my thesis holds a general support on the statement, it is necessary to take consideration of the political, cultural, and economical aspects that are impossible to be handled by a single leader. This essay claims on the circumstances in which the capability of the citizens, the overall infrastructure of the country, and the international relationship in a given state are factors that mostly determine the well-beings of the country.

While the country leader is responsible for managing the current conditions of life among the public, a state of well-being of the citizens is determined and evaluated in terms of their ideological, cultural and religious beliefs. For example, in India in which the realm of Hinduism takes place in most areas, well-being is conceptualized in terms of balancing the maintaining of living and the feeling of being connected with the divine. Even though the basic needs are not enough fulfilled, as long as well-being is a subjective state, citizens might be satisfied by the fact that their religious patterns. On the other hand, developed countries such as the nations of northern Europe shall indicate a low satisfaction in their well being notwithstanding the fact that most citizens are being supported for their financial needs. That is, various factors are intertwined that defines the overall satisfaction of the citizens.

Second, the infrastructural basis of the country is a product that has been accumulated throughout a long period of time. Especially in the current phase of global warming and climate change, the country’s leader shall not have the capacity of supplying the immediate needs when faced by natural disasters. For instance, as the summer of 2020 reached above 40 degrees Celsius in the European continents, several countries had to undergo severe hardships because of their lack of air conditional advices in residential areas. In that case, calling for a full responsibility to the current political leader might be somewhat merciless because such infrastructure cannot be implemented in one day.

The current international relationship of the country is another factor that affects the living conditions of the public. In a current state of globalization, either collective or individual practices held by neighboring countries render significant impacts on the behaviors multinational corporates, which in turn results to a fluctuation in the economics. Thus, a country’s well-being shall be meticulously predicted in terms of the diplomatic status of the nation. For example, the financial crisis that South Korea had undergone during the mid-90s, it is said that the main culprit of the crisis was not due to the failure of the domestic measures but instead due to the oppression applied by the international monetary fund. Citizens attributed their hardship of living to the heavy dependance of overseas corporates, so that cooperation among the public seemed to be raised that centered upon the government. Likewise, circumstances in which economical hardship is closely linked to the international politics, the effectiveness of a political leader may increment despite the impaired living conditions.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed three key factors that influence the fidelity to a country and the country’s leader, and has argued that it is an important consideration for evaluating the well being of a country. When the cultural, ideological beliefs, the infrastructural basis, and the international relationships are in good terms, satisfaction in living conditions throughout the country might have no direct relevance to the ability of the country’s leader. It is therefore recommended that the effectiveness of a country’s leader be evaluated in consideration of the affiliated factors