Claim: the best way to understand a character of a society is to examine the character of the man and woman that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals.

Every society consists of certain ethics and principles, notwithstanding the extent of universal ideas, and often heroes of the particular society are thought to be figures that reflect the social ideals. Thus it shall be reasonable to conclude that heroes as well as role models can be a proper element in evaluating the characteristics of a society. However, this essay reveals that such figures may vary and even contradict to one another according to the given context, so that examining a society only being informed by its representative figures might cause a misleading result.

Admittedly, canonized figures that are proudly introduced as the symbol of a society are likely to illuminate its idiosyncrasy, such as Mozart in Austria, Abraham Lincoln in the U.S.A, Kafka in Czech, and so on. These figures not only reveal the driving force of a community, but a collective personality formed through geographical, political, and cultural factors. Thus it may seem largely plausible that heroes explain most of the country.

Nevertheless, because of the fact that such role models not only represent the highest ideals but also the vulgarity or shallow desire shared among the public, such figures may compete with one another and it might be extremely difficult to discern between or make priority among the many figures. For instance, President Trump, the former CEO and a billionaire in business, had been admired by numerous groups of people so that even many children who have not much to do with financial engagement picked Trump as their role models. The main factor of the admiration was based on the mere fact that he had accumulated wealth and prosperity, even though the way he had gained them was not as moral as it was supposed to be. That is, heroes and role models show both sides of the society, one as the idealistic character and the other as the fancy villain.

Furthermore, as the borderline that distinguishes countries has become more dim than before, nowadays heroes and role models are being widely shared among several societies. For instance, the doomed pop star Michael Jordan may be well recognized throughout the whole world, nevertheless the specific ideas and meanings of this figurative symbol may be disparate. In the African region, Michael Jordan is deemed to be the one who is respected for his origins and racial characteristics, while in the United States, he is considered to be the genius of the sports world. Thus, only by looking at the single figures without any context and background knowledge of the society won’t reveal the ethics but even mislead people with erroneous impressions.

The conclusion now stands that heroes and role models can become the symbol of a society at times when revealing its tenets, while at other times they may adversely confuse the people in characterizing certain societies. It is therefore important to consider the specific circumstances that lie behind the individual figures when evaluating a society.