In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit it must be understandable to most people.

As the barrier between art and everyday life has been erased, and more and more people are more or less producing art themselves, the field of art closely connects to other fields, such as humanity, natural science, and pop culture. As it is not a mere argument, but a tendency of art itself, it seems plausible that the basic role and function of art is to merit the public for social justice and quality of life in general. The statement, as well, seems to underscore the value and ethics of art and continues to argue that it has to be easy to understand for the general public. Although I undoubtedly support the assumption that art should render certain social values, I do not fully agree with the presumption that it be understandable to most people for two reasons.

In fact, There are a plethora of art works that call for political action. For example, “I, Daniel Blake” is a an London based film screened in 2015 that depicts a life of a retired man who has struggle maintaining his life as the social policy does not give enough opportunity to those who don’t seem to be capable enough to produce “healthy, young labor”. It touches several political issues, especially those which are strongly related to labor issues, and feminism issues that are contemporarily being discussed. The moto and teachings are conspicuous that anyone who watches the film might ponder on the well-being of pedestrian people.

However, as it has become relatively easy to produce artworks with mild and agreeable contents due to the help of mass media and other technological developments in communication, it enables them to be involved in profit gaining market exchange and benefit the ones who posses enough capital. In other word, artworks that contain simple and bold ideas are keen to be consumed as mere entertainment, although the original intention of the producer was opposite to it.

Furthermore, producing artworks that are focused on making most of the people understand the contents may lead to another opposite result, which is causing laziness of actively thinking and trying to grasp the idea that belies the appearance. For example, most of the avant-garde trials during 1910s in Russia and 1960s in France were intended for experimenting a change of our habitual mindsets. Experimental works tend to disrupt the common sense and subvert our given beliefs and ideologies, allowing us to initiate new thoughts and eventually practice new sets of demeanors. Thus, even though these kinds of art seems to be esoteric at first glance, it is likely that we can fundamentally ponder on the times and space we reside on and propel ourselves to merit the public in our own hands. Art that is fully understandable on the spot, in contrast, may satisfy the public but won’t in particular merit their quality of lives.

In conclusion, we shall be aware of the fact that understandable art does not automatically relate to art that benefits and enhances the life of the public. It may instead used as a product of market exchange and laid in the middle of the living room of the most corrupted, powerful person in our times.