Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Even though it may sound convincing enough to take considerations of interests and suggestions of their students while planning the educational curriculum, teachers might fall into a misleading effect when neglecting the importance of a well-balanced coursework. This essay is going to argue some potential risks and broaden the perspectives by conforming with categorical requirements in the educational field.

Admittedly, taking into account students’ pure interests in particular topics or issues, not to mention the materials and methodology, provides students with great motivation and a driving force for passionate commitment. Students may feel confident and at home when they are aware of the fact that the curriculum is managed through keen deliberation of the students’ tastes. Also, the democratic process of merging several ideas into the courses might lead to developing communication skills in terms of listening to other opinions and persuading others with one’s compelling reasons, sharing each other’s interests and forming peer groups according to these interests.

Nevertheless, the advantageous elements of including students’ ideas into the courses can be withdrawn when the educator is not aware of the misleadings in being focused only in subjects that interest students. One of the risks is the possibility of being overly biased against the remnants of the subject pool that are not chosen as the contents of courseworks. While going through a mandatory educational process, students might undergo a phase in which unfamiliar ideas and perspectives are perpetuated into their tastes. That is, the reason that certain subjects are not interesting might be merely because the contents are not familiar enough to the students. For instance, if a student whose parents were pendants in the field of literature, it is likely that he or she might feel a sense of apathy in subjects like mathematics or physics. Then the teacher’s responsibility might be to provide opulent opportunities to make such subjects more familiar and appealing so that the student starts to explore alternative interests in other fields as well. In other words, by only taking into account the suggestions of the students shall forestall chances in taking part in fields that were originally not familiar to them. Therefore, it is important for the teacher to have a more prudent attitude in choosing what to teach.

Eventually, students might be unwilling to pursue subjects that are not interesting even after the course finishes. Once completing the mandatory coursework, students may receive full liberation from any duties in taking part in activities that do not cling to them. That is, they might lack a broad perspective in learning and creating due to the fact that they might only be concentrating in fields that they were keen and familiar with. Therefore, teachers

Thus, the conclusion now stands that teachers and students should go through a process of in-depth consideration of subjects regardless of one’s tastes or interests. This essay tried to take a balancing viewpoint in terms of forming a well rounded education, in order to maximize the benefits of both choices.