Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Our everyday life is filled with numerous conversations and controversies. In terms of learning as well, we cannot help but face potential obstacles in implementing our thoughts. Nevertheless, it is becoming more important to be exposed to those who do not share our own thoughts than those who share the same view. This essay will provide several reasons and examples in terms of buttressing the idea.

To begin with, it may be plausible to think of factors that cause stress and hamper developing our ideas when faced with views that contradict our thoughts. Not to mention the daily patterns in which we get annoyed by people who are nettlesome in trivial topics, it has been a constant concern in terms of implementing issues that are crucial to alleviate the current political, cultural, or environmental problem. For example, notwithstanding the importance of the legitimation of the filibuster as a function of maintaining a democratic atmosphere in political agendas, it frequently led to a delay of resolution and hindrance of practical approaches. Even though a well-intentional agenda is being raised, various ideas and attitudes that are contradictory to the gist of the idea impedes realising the thought into practice. Thus, it is likely to say that contradicting ideas and thoughts can be an obstacle for the achievement of the original initiatives.

Nevertheless, it is undeniable that we are more and more surrounded by people who have varying ideas due to globalisation and the development of communication devices. This tendency of growing importance in communication propels the necessity to challenge against differential attitudes. New devices and means of communication result not only to a challenging environment in which unexpected controversies can be aroused but also to a philosophical rudimentation in terms of language and identity. That is, as it has become possible that we do not have to depend solely on the customary language and text, we are able to extend the means of communication to the limit of our imagination. In addition, we realize that we ourselves are groups of split ideas and identities through which we sometimes undergo anxiety and confusion. This means that the current era urges us to be as openly as we could in order to adapt in the changing environment and culture.

Furthermore, the very ethics of democracy consists of such varying ideas and thoughts, which preserves the ethics of diversity and liberalism. For instance, a significant number of articles of public news depicts a landscape in which the agora teems with conflicting ideals. The contemporary struggle in terms of gender equality seems to be adulterated by extreme and factious parties and prolonged discussions, but there is an acknowledgement that conflicts are inevitable in order to change the fundamental basis of social structure. History proves it with bountiful examples and proxies that only through contradiction can any change be accomplished.

The conclusion now stands that it is of the utmost importance that we should be communicative and open to different thoughts than just follow a group of people who share the same ideas. Not only history urges us to, but also the very ethics of democracy.