People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

There are several factors that affect the behavior of people, and some people even argue that external factors are the ones that genuinely decide how people act. However, this essay will argue that this is not necessarily the case, and individuals factors sometimes matter more.

Admittedly, immediate situation and pressure from social rules and established conventions exert a crucial influence on people's behavior. For instance, it is widely known that there is a strong relationship between poverty and the criminal act. When people have little things to lose, they are more at risk of committing a crime to meet their basic needs. Similarly, individuals are likely to internalize a basic set of values and rules provided by society and adjust their behavior to it. It is plausible that people who are living in a democratic society with respect freedom of speech, thus not preventing others from expressing their views openly. In sum, how people behave sometimes depends on external forces.

However, some individuals defy situational and social pressure enforced on themselves and manage to govern their own behavior according to their beliefs or desire. For example, Martin Luther was a priest in a society where Christian church dominated, but he decided to defy the corruption of the church and severely criticized church in public. Luther also went on to translate the Latin Bible into the vernacular language, which is German Bible even though it was deemed inappropriate in those days. However, he was determined to do that because he believed it could make God's words more accessible to more people. In sum, the statement in question that only emphasizes external forces might not hold true in all circumstances.

In conclusion, while the statement appears plausible in some cases, the possibility of the actions that individuals can decide on their own cannot be ignored. It is more critical to take a compromising approach that views external force as an essential factor but not as a single, primary one.