Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

It is seemingly more reasonable to be part among members who share common goals and perspectives. However it is not always obvious whether we can learn more from proponents or objectors. This essay will support the claim that disagreements and contradicting ideas can be a catalyst for extending one’s thought by providing several reasons and evidence.

Admittedly, there are definitely positive traits of learning from shared viewpoints. As a well known aphorism states “Birds of a feather flock together”, We are keen to join a company of people who share the same views as ours. There are increased chances that we take part in conversations in which common ideas build up, instead of getting involved in a feud. It allows a hospitable environment for positive learning, from which we can get influenced by the ideas of others. There is no inhibition among such people and a mutual rapport can be established.

Nevertheless, the scope of this type of learning is limited. It ends where the views are merely exchanged. When one person at the receiving position agrees to all the views of the seasoned person, he or she does not need to raise any questions or doubts against the knowledge. On the other hand, there is a greater scope of learning from someone who has different ideas than you. While it is true that disagreement can cause stress and therefore may inhibit learning, we could also see from the perspective in which disagreeing positions will be able to correct and improve us, guiding us to see from other viewpoints that we might miss. An obvious example is the debate since the opponents can easily find the flaws and weaknesses in our argument. Consequently, a heated debate usually leads to a thorough and comprehensive understanding about the subject in discussion.

Furthermore, differential ideas and conflicts strengthen the ability to be communicative, considering the aspects of a democratic society. In today’s world, we are exposed to numerous conflicting thoughts and beliefs in which we are responsible for negotiating and persuading our beliefs to others. Even if thoughts and ideas are unique and novel enough, it may not be compelling unless the ideas are spread to many groups of people. Society nowadays requires us not only to develop our thoughts through constant research and investigation, but also to be capable enough in terms of conveying our thoughts. Frequently cited instances or episodes of well known figures mostly share stories that show how much arduous work for persuasion it took in order to penetrate their brilliant thoughts to the society. One of the most influential figures in psychology, Sigmund Freud was faced with the conservative atmosphere of the established academia while introducing his insights in the mental illnesses in his contemporaries. Even though he was ridiculed and had to be exposed to tremendous stress, his painstaking efforts to appeal to the opposites eventually made his ideas even more interesting. Now his controversial ideas became canon in the realms of psychoanalysis. In other words, in terms of being capable enough in one’s field of inquiry it is almost inevitable to be challenged with opposing ideas or stances, thus it is imperative to be in a welcoming state of mind in facing disagreements.

The conclusion now stands that disagreements shall be helpful for a person to develop one’s thoughts and ideas because of two prominent reasons. Firstly, the scope of learning through disagreeing positions is larger than that of the conforming positions. Secondly, the environmental change in society calls for a welcoming attitude in disagreements and conflicts. Thus, it will be crucial enough to stand out of the boundary of safety and dare to face the harshness of the opposites.