The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Surely, whenever we praise someone for their positive actions, we impart confidence in them and encourage them to succeed in their lives. The prompt suggests that we should praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones completely. However, completely ignoring the negative actions may lead to some undesirable consequences. Thus, I fundamentally disagree with the author's claim that we should praise positive actions while ignore the negative ones. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below mentioned examples.

Firstly, 'negative actions' may include wrong decisions, or immoral conduct, or certain mistakes while performing any tasks. According to the legend, 'The best way to succeed in life is to learn from your mistakes'. Therefore, on the basis of this claim, it can be said that the best way to teach someone would be to not have any disregard for the negative actions. A person can enlighten himself by looking back at the past mistakes, and not repeating them again in their lives ahead. Also, only after evaluating a wrong decision can we teach that person to make better decisions ahead in his life. For instance, consider a student who is erudite and skillful in a particular subject. Therefore, he is always praised by the teachers for his achievements. But, perhaps he would be immoral in his actions as he would be mocking and bullying everyone else in his classroom. If such behaviour is ignored by the school, then it would lead to undesirable consequences ahead in his life. Thus it is very important to give equal attention to negative actions.

In addition to this, praising only positive actions can make that individual over-confident and have excessive pride in himself. He tends to become self- complacent and does not take any extra efforts to improve himself. For instance, consider a celebrity whose staff has always flattered her for her good-looks and personality. They have never been critical about her bad acting skills. This makes the actress over confident in her abilities. Perhaps, she would not be able to handle her downfall ahead in her life. This example proves that there should be an equal balance between praising positive actions as well paying attention to the negative ones.

However, in contrast to the above statement, one should not pester the person by pointing out only his flaws. This is because praising that person, can increase his self confidence and motivate him to achieve his goals in life. For instance, consider a workplace where the manager always criticizes and complains about his employee's indolence. In such a case, it might be possible that the employee's would lose their interest and zeal towards their work which would bring detrimental effects to the profitability of the company. Thus it is equally important for the manager to praise the positive action of his employees in order to encourage them and motivate them to work hard.

To sum up, the best way way to teach someone is to give equal important to praise someone's positive actions as well as improve their negative ones. By pointing out their past mistakes, we tend to teach the person to improve themselves and by praising positive actions we encourage them to achieve their goals.