The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Teaching is a two way process between the teacher and the student. The prompt states that the best way a person can be taught is by praising his or her positive actions while ignoring the negative ones. I mostly agree, that prasing someone for his positive actions can be fruitful for two reasons, but I do concede that sometimes ignoring the negative actions can backfire us.

Firstly, one should praise students strong points because doing so encourages the students to dive deep in the concepts which is getting the student praised. For instance, suppose a student is lauded by his teacher regarding his mathematical skills, the student will be encouraged to learn more about Mathematics and may even get inspired to become a Mathematician in future. The above example shows us that plausing students for their merits can be a good approach in teaching.

Secondly, another reason to adapt this teaching way is that it helps the teacher in identifying the interest of students. To illustrate, if a teacher praised a student for his performance in a speech giving competition which was mandatory for every student to participate and if the student shows willingness to participate in other cultural and extra curricular competition it may help the teacher to identify his or her interest and guide him accordingly in his educational years. From the above scenario it is lucid that prasing positive actions can be helpful for teachers.

Lastly, while the above method can be productive it does have some drawbacks because if we neglect negative actions of a individual he or she may do the same actions in future. For example, suppose a criminal is caught for an attempt to bribe a police officer and he or she is bailed out without any actions or criminal case, then the criminal may try to attempt again in the future and has learned nothing from his past. Hence to teach a person, his or her negative actions should not be ignored and the person should be notified for his or her negative acitions.

In conclusion, the prompt proposed way of teaching is productive for most of the times but that are certain times when it may be counterproductive. Hence the method should be modified where praising for positive actions and notifying for negative actions both should be performed side by side.