The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper On average middle aged consumers devote 39 percent of their retail expenditure to department store products and services while for younger consumers the average is only 25 percent Sin

In the opinion column the author concludes that to take advantage of the trends observed of the high purchase of middle-aged consumer in the department stores and product the stores should replace some of the products intended to attract young customers to the products that will attract middle-aged customer. The author has come to such a conclusion based on the evidence that younger consumer average expenditure is seen to be comparatively less than the middle-aged consumers. While the conclusion drawn by the author might ultimately prove valid, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the trend of higher purchase among middle-aged consumer will continue in future. Perhaps the reason for higher purchase is because of discounts and offers on the products of the store or it is possible that there is a temporary boost in the economy and hence the employed which are generally the middle-aged individuals are able to purchase store products and services. There is a possibility that the economy may reduce in the future and purchasing power of middle-aged consumer may get reduced as well. If the above scenarios hold merit then the author' conclusion about replacing the younger consumer products does not hold water.

Second of all, the author presumes that the number of middle-aged people will increase in the coming years. It is possible that the younger people may increase in the future because of globalization and the reciting of international people near the stores. There is a possibility that we may observe increasing number of heart attacks and medical emergencies within the middle aged consumers and hence their population may get dramatically reduce. If the above case is true then the argument is rife with holes and the author's claim is significantly weakened.

Lastly, the author supposes that the choice of products among consumers is constant. Perhaps the preferences among both the younger and older consumer change frequently. There is possibility that a product that is once popular among younger consumers is now popular among middle-aged consumer and there is no means to estimate which goods and services will attract consumer of a certain age. If the above situation is true it weakens the author's claim that stores should replace some of the young consumer products with products that will attract middle-aged consumer. Thus the author needs to clarify the assumptions with strong evidences to ultimately bolster the argument.

Although the author might not be evaluating the given situation of replacement of products according to middle-aged consumer in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistically. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.