A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

A national curriculum allows uniform teaching to all the students in any institution. The prompt recommends that a nation should make its students to study same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly agree, to the prompt regarding a uniform structure and pattern to maintain in education until students reach a certain level in their studies like universities and colleges, but I do concede that it makes certain students a burden to study something they are not interested in or good at.

To begin, a national curriculum will allow schools to guide their students more easily and also provide a strong material on which students performance can be graded. For instance, the conduction of exams in every schools allows the school teachers to judge a students performance on the basis of a certain subject and topic which is similar to all the students going to attempt the exam. Additionally, many students in near future attempt various competitive examinations and these exams are based on a single uniform pattern and portion which helps students to prepare for it accordingly. If in the above cases the study material was not kept similar, it can lead to a lot of confusion among students and hence maintaining a national curriculum seems a far better option.

Secondly, following a national curriculum makes students more aware about lot of other subjects apart from the one they are interested in. For example, a student who is keen in playing football and wishes to join his or her dream football club will ignore basic necessary knowledgde like civis and Environmental Science which are subjects that convey the importance of laws and basic science of how life works on our planet, but if these subjects come under a national curriculum the student has a compulsion to complete these subjects in school which will surely help in their future. Thus to make students familiar with many necessary subjects like the one mentioned above a national curriculum seems as a feasible way to do so.

However, certain students can be affected with such a pattern in education. To illustrate, some students are naturally not able to understand certain subjects or topics like Mathematics and logical reasoning, for such students if these subjects made a compulsion may lead to difficulty in completing certain school levels. It can lead to losing confidence in young age which will be detrimental in their further educational life. For such students making another simple curriculum will be beneficial which includes the same topic but with a much less serious approach in passing and more concentration in making students aware about the topic.

In conclusion, the national curriculum is surely a pragmatic way to judge and help students making aware about certain things apart from the one they like but it comes with certain effects on certain students which can be solved by including room for exception in the national curriculum and thus the suggestion to make students study same national curriculum until they reach college is acute.