The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the noblest professions of human history has been ‘Teaching’. That is because a good teacher can vastly shape a student’s future which can also have a significant impact on a nation’s future. So, it is needless to say how important a teacher’s role can be for a nation or society and how vital it is for a teacher to find out the best way to teach. The prompt above has mentioned a solution for that, that is the best way to teach would be to praise positive actions and ignoring negative ones. My position will be mostly against this proposition for two obvious reasons.

After family, teachers play the most important key role to build a child’s sound, analytical, and healthy mindset that will have a huge impact on his/her upcoming future. A child is often like a direction-less sailor who is not aware of his/her surroundings, the differences between right and wrong, or which path he/she should choose and which path he/she should avoid. A good teacher will always encourage the children to be positive and optimistic in every aspect of their life. Praising the positive actions will inspire the children to do some similar deeds on a regular basis. However, nobody is above mistakes and negative actions. So, it is quite normal that a kid can commit some mistakes no matter how silly that can be. But ignoring those mistakes or negative actions will not make them aware of right and wrong. They will not learn to differentiate which actions should be practiced and which should be avoided at any cost. For instance, a boy can be good at his lessons, he can be good at his extra-curricular activities. But, say, he is a bully to the other kids in his school. Moreover, despite knowing this fact, his teacher chose to ignore those actions. What will be his takeaway from this? He will start to believe that it is okay to be mean to another person because nobody scolded or punished him for that. The practice of good and evil, commendable deeds and reprimandable tasks from early childhood can build a person’s own consciousness and righteousness.

Additionally, healthy criticism can often inspire a person to correct his/her mistakes and do better in the future. For instance, a brilliant Pakistani young cricketer Mohammad Amir was caught in fixing cricket matches. He used to be praised for his unparalleled and such promising performances at such a young age. Unfortunately, he lost his way and started to fix the matches. He betrayed his country, his supporters. Eventually, he was banished for five years from cricket. This incident changed his life. He understood the value of righteousness and the importance of commitment to the game which provided his livelihood. So, after the five-year suspension, he came back stronger than ever and eventually delivering a magnificent performance which crowned Pakistan the champion of 2017 champions league cricket. This example shows that taking actions against a negative deed can actually lead to something extraordinary.

However, harsh criticism can often bring an adverse result. It can frustrate the person by making him/her believe that he/she is good for nothing. Criticism is necessary but castigation is not. Having said that, I believe that a person can be a nation’s asset if he/she can differentiate right from wrong from his/her early childhood and that notion can be achieved from praising his/her positive actions as well as mild and healthy criticism for his/her mistakes.