“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

teaching is an art not everyone can master. It's a skill that takes immense patience and trust, but at the same time could be extremely rewarding when done right. The prompt suggests that the best way to teach is praise positive actions and to ignore negative ones. I disagree with this for the following two reasons.

There is no doubt that commending positive actions is an important aspect of teaching. it instills confidence in the learner and motivates them to further improve and excel. that being said, reprimanding negative actions has its own place in the learning cycle. Take for example a 5 month old child, ingenuous to the ways of the world, decides to crawl by the shoe stand at home and begins nibbling on them. are the parents really expected to ignore this entirely and just let it happen? Or do they, in some way that the baby can understand, educate the baby about how taking a bite out of people's footwear isn't really the way to go? what kind of kid are you raising, if you don't show them what is right thing to do?

it is not uncommon to have parents who love their kids so much that they really don't chastise them for their wrongdoings. Keeping a child in check is the best way to ensure that they are ready for the real world. A person, pampered by their parents to the point where they are barely chastised, grow up to becoming people who cannot take criticism positively. they would be oblivious to rejections that they will undoubtedly face at some point in their life, and will be unable to handle it .

Teachers and parents alike have a responsibility of bringing up children in a way that they are ready to take on the world. And in doing so, may have to point out where the child goes wrong, while simultaneously praising them for their achievements.