The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions
and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In
developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or
examples that could be used to challenge your position.
Every person has the capacity to do both good and bad. For educators, employers, and parents, it can be
difficult to determine how best to deal with the people who partake in bad behaviour. Some people would
argue that it is better to highlight positive actions and refrain from giving any attention to the negative
ones. I largely agree with this position since often times negative action are carried out with the sole
intention of eliciting a response. Furthermore, I believe that it is more effective to use positive
reinforcement rather than negative reinforcement. However, when authority figures completely ignore bad
behaviour, it can send the message to others, that this kind of behaviour is, in fact, acceptable. Hence, I
believe that severely reprehensible behaviour should be swiftly addressed; while the more trivial negative
behaviour should be ignored.
Firstly, empirical evidence has shown that bad behaviour is often a cry for attention: be it a child who
lacks attention from his or her parents or even a student who is falling behind in class because of a lack of
support from his or her teachers. Hence, when parents or teachers acknowledge this type of behaviour,
even if it is in a negative way, the delinquent child or student has already won by gaining the attention
that they so crave--this can even create a positive feedback loop, where kids or even adults continue to
partake in this kind of negative behaviour to continue to receive the attention that they are lacking.
Therefore, it is in the best interests of educators, employers, and parents to ignore these negative actions
so that those who partake in them will learn that their negative actions will not elicit the attention that they
want.
Furthermore, the best way to teach is by using positive reinforcement rather than negative reinforcement:
the carrot, not the stick. In workplaces where positive reinforcement tactics are enforced, perhaps in the
form of bonuses or promotions, a more positive and creative ethos is being set by the employer; whereas,
workplaces where negative reinforcement tactics are enforced, be it a deduction in pay or public
reprehensions, a more negative and restrictive ethos is present. Positive reinforcement has proven to be far
more favorable to negative reinforcement in many cases. The United States has used positive
reinforcement in the form of foreign aid to countries in South America as incentivization to improve their
economy and prevent illegal immigrants from crossing over into the United States. This has been proven
more effective than some of the negative reinforcement tactics some presidential administrations have
used instead: withdrawing foreign aid or implementing economic sanctions towards forementioned
country. Thus, it can be seen that positive reinforcement not only elicits good behaviour from the other
side, but it also helps in maintaining a positive relationship going forward--one which is vital in the case
of student-teacher or parent-child relationships.
However, by blatantly ignoring all forms of negative behaviour, authority figures can send out the
message that this type of behaviour is acceptable; hence, it is a careful line that people in charge must
thread. Extremely bad behaviour such as illegal activities or actions that cause harm to others should not
be ignored and should be dealt with immediately. When this kind of behaviour goes unchecked, it often
festers into something much worse down the road. However, most people do not partake in extremely
negative behavior on a day-to-day basis but more so in more trivial ones. Hence, it is remains the case that
just ignoring most types of bad behavior is the best course of action for authority figures to set the best
example.
While authority figures such as teachers, parents, and employers have a tough job when it comes to
setting a good example, I believe that they can best do so by using positive reinforcement rather than
negative reinforcement. Not only does this create a more positive environment and foster a better
relationship between a mentor and mentee, but it also depletes the attention from which much of the bad
behavior is fueled by. However, while bad behaviour should not be sensationalized, it is important to
understand that it often stems from a place of hurt or pain and the root problems should also be addressed
in a way that does not dramatize the bad behaviour itself.