The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The character of society is best judged by the ideology and character of its people. This ideology of people leads to them choosing their role models and heroes, whom they worship and try to exact them throughout their life. For instance, people of Rajasthan, especially Mewar have their ancestral kings like Maharana Pratap as their role model. It is evident from the percentage they make up in Indian army, that they are valorant enough to do justice to their role model.

But, this might not always be the case. For instance, children of countries like North Korea are not exposed to great people of other regions. North Korea is similar to what a black box is, completely unknown from the outside. People living outside their country does not have a clue about them, and people inside the country do not have any idea about the outer world. They are labeled by other people as tyrants, mostly because of their tyrannical kings, who are worshipped by the people. Children are taught of the greatness of their reigning kings and thus, due to lack of alternative to look at, they accept them as their role model. North Korean kings, especially Kim Jong Yu are known for their tyrannical behaviour, which is not evident in the behaviour of people. Therefore, the character of society should be judged only through their role models if they had knowledge of other alternative great personalities to make a choice from.

A country like India sets an example of a country which has given access to the people to study about the lifes of various eminent people and make a choice of their role model. For most of the people, Mahatma Gandhi, also the father of nation, is an idol. Mahatma Gandhi followed the principle of truth and non violence, and considered them as two of his greatest weapons. He also had an open mind when it came to religion. This seculiarism is visible in the streets of India, where people of different religion come together and complement each other in various tasks, be it politics or bureacracy which is not present in extremist countries like Pakistan who consider their role model people like Jinnah who believed in supremacy of Muslim people. This toxic mindset is reflected in their treatment of minority groups, who are kept away from basic necessities of living. Therefore, the statement given is valid in countries who have given its citizens freedom to choose their heroes.

The society of eighteenth century and nineteenth century is a perfect example of understanding the character of society. Most of the people in that era viewed people who supported patriarchy as their role models. As a result, from the evidences based on accounts of life of women, it is evident that women were circumscribed to house chores, while bulk of the outside work was to be done by men. However, as people started realizing the potential of women and started ideolizing women as their role models, the dignity of women in society increased by manifolds. Women started looking for jobs and by the advent of 21st centure, women were proficient and at par with the men. This transition of mindset from early 18th century to 21st century is also marked by change in the role models of people, which indicates a causal relation between the two.

Keeping in view the above examples and arguments, it is clear that charcater of society based on their role models should be judged only in democratic societies, where people are given the freedom to judge their heroes. Judging society without having knowledge about their backgrounds would yield incorrect judgements, leading to incorrect conculsions.