To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader is the epitome of his society, and any foreigner will recognise the people by their leader. Therefore, it is important that the leader is strict on his morals and code of conduct, setting himself as an example before his people. Ancient rulers like Maharana Pratap of India are worshipped till date because of his adamant nature in keeping with his morals. Leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela galvanised people to walk with them on the path of non-violence and peace to end the brutal colonial rule. History has also witnessed effective leaders like Adolf Hitler who followed different ethical and moral standards in order to ameliorate the sufferings of their people.

In contrast to the statement, some people argue that leaders must not always follow the set rules and regulations in order to get the right thing, in the interest of state done. For instance, many Indians believe that the government should launch a full fledged war against Pakistan to end the nuisance and harm it has been causing India over the period of time, be it in the form of terror attacks or disparaging remarks on internal issues of India. This may violate the priniciple of no first attack of India, but in the end, elimination of Pakistan will be beneficial to India. However, these people should also consider the damage that will be inflicted to India in international relations. Countries might no longer be able to trust the set policies of India. Even many citizens of India will feel that, if the current leaders does not respect age old policies, then how will they adhere to new policies like reservation that hinder the general public but is of benefit to the minorities. This will give rise to lack of confidence in leader, and will render him weaker.

Another example is of the longest ruling party of India- Indian Nationa Congress (INC). Over the years, it has indulged in so many malpractices like corruption or favouring interests of other countries other their own, that it eventually led to people throwing them off the government in 2014 elections and providing the opposition party- Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) with an emphatic win. Between 2004 and 2014, the politicians of INC had a myriad number of corruption cases lodged against them. They were indulged in corruption from sports scandals like Commonwealth games scandal to energy scandals like Coalgate scandal. They were also accused with making their relatives like Robert Vadra land available at cheap price. The outrage of people against them for not following the principles, once set by Mahatma Gandhi, led them to get kicked from government leaving them with handful seats few constituencies. This highlights the importance of following moral and ethical standards especially by a leader.

In order to be an effective leader, one must conform to their highest moral and ethical standards and not deter from them inspite of harsh conditions. Not following moral and ethical code will eventually lead to people losing their trust in them like in the previous case of INC.