The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character

of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is demonstrated that people exhibit the behavior of a character whose footsteps they walk in. The prompt claims the plausibility of emulating an idol figure. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that a society reflects the behavior of whom they idolize for two reasons.

To begin, a group of persons exhibiting high moral standard can't possibly imitate an exemplar whose moral standard is lower than theirs. For instance, the late historian musician, Fela Anikulapo Kutu, who is a role model to many in and outside the music industry is however emulated by secular musicians and artists who believes smoking, drinking, and womanizing is the right way of life because, that is typically how Fela lived his life. Also, his well-known shrine is populated by drug addicts, youths and adults with a very bad drinking, smoking and womanizing habit. Fela Anikulapo died of Acquired Immunodeficiency syndrome and still has so many who adores and walks in his destructive footsteps. The example above illustrates that a society whose role model is a drug addict would definitely be populated by people of the same mien.

Further, even if characters of people can't be determined by studying the behaviour of those they imitate, it is however important for a body to carefully choose an estimated character to emulate for the purpose of walking the right steps. For example, students whose role model is a respected Neurosurgeon would definitely walk in his ways to be, if not exactly like him. They would definitely read his books, follow every advice he gives, adopt his style of reading and approaching challenges, imitate his method of selecting friends and gatherings. When eventually successful, would be an exact replica of this particular neurosurgeon whom they adore. Just like most successful doctors and neurosurgeons would definitely point out the famous Ben Carson as their model figure.

Of course, some would argue that a community observed with a good character would not necessarily have the best behaved model. It is however impossible that a well behaved doctor would emulate a drug addict. This validates the adage that says "show me your friend, I would tell you who you are". It is therefore easy to assess a community's moral standard by assessing it's highly esteemed model figures.