Claim: In any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years

Reason: The surest path to sucess for any enterprise is revitalization though new leadership

A good leader is someone that has clear vision for its organization. One should be able to adequately meet the needs of their people, while helping them to achieve their organizational objectives. However, as these organizations outlives us, it is important for them to relay the leadership torch to someone new. With regards to this issue, people often argues that those in leadership should only rule for a short period of time - five years, for example. They argue that regeneration of leadership will help the organization to achieve greater heights. However, due to many reasons, I would like to argue that premature change in leadership will inhibit growth to a large extent.

One argues that periodical change in leadership will ensure that the best talents will have their chance to lead. There are new talents that are groomed every year - be it management trainees, or new members of parliament that was elected by the people. We might not be able to realize their true potential without giving them to chance to lead. They might brought fresh perspectives and energy to the organization.

While this argument may sound enticing, I believe that changes might not always be a good thing. While new ideas may thrive, experience and maturity can only be built over time. We might not always find a better replacement to those currently in power. Forcing people to step down every five years might cost the organization to lose their best leaders, replacing them with someone that are unable to fill in their shoes right away. By the time the new leader learns how to lead effectively, it might be their time to step down.

Following the previous argument, I believe that forcing leaders to step down will bring destabilization to the organization. Each leader has their own unique goals throughout their term. As they step down, the new leader might push for different objectives, negating the direction their predecessor have taken. For example, the previous United States of America, President Obama, has pushed for an universal health care system in the United States. However, as he was replaced by the President Trump, the current medical care system was terminated in favour of providing more incentives to local business. Frequent changes in policy will brought destabilization to any organization, inhibiting them to work towards any directions in the long run.

Lastly, the process of replacing a leader might incur a high cost. In most of the democratic countries, public elections are held to choose the next leader. In order to garner more votes, the candidates often spend a great deal of resources to advertise themselves. Government budget that can be used for other means, such as education and infrastructure, was burnt to finance the election process. Sometimes, the candidates promises other political figures with prosperous positions within the government in order to buy their votes. Thus, elected government might not always be filled by the most competent people. This reason alone invalidates the argument about the benefit of leadership revitalisation.

Even though changes can sometimes result in a better future, sticking to the status quo might also be a good choice. I believe that forcing the incumbent to step down in five years might not be the best policy. Allowing the current leaders to step up again, when there are no better candidates to replace them, might be a better strategy.