Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Everyone's definition of a hero is different, depending on different times, different educational level, cultural background and even family environment. he image of the hero exists as a kind of image that support to give people hope. Some people think that the best way to study a society is to study the character of people the country calls heroes. I agree with this view but it is not comprehensive.

There is no denying that studying the people who are called heroes in this country is a good way to learn about this society. First reason is like what I say before, hero is a image that makes people have hope for their live and make their inner world become more powerful. However, the hero have tiomeliness, which means people will have different image of hero in different of time. Study the characters of hero only can understand a specific time of a society but it is hard to understand all about this society.

Most of the time, the hero is an imaginary figure in people is the mental world rather than a specific person in people's lives. Most of the time, the hero should be perfect without any negative personality. For example, a hero's accepted standard is helpful, friendly, and unselfish, and all other positive personalities. However, it is hard for a real person to have a positive personality in people's minds. Because of that, I agree hero is the highest ideals in society.

To summarize, I think studying for a hero's characteristics is a good way to learn a society but it is not all about society. I also agree that the hero is the highest ideals for society.