Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Role model or a hero is a person who other people look up to. Most of the people have a role model who they are inspired from. Role model can be any body, it may be a popular celebrity or even a person's father. The author claims that the best way to understand a character of the society is to examine the people the society chooses as role model. I mostly disagree with the claim the author makes.

Firstly the role models or the heros which are populr only show some part of their life to the general public. There are hidden secrets or facts that most of the people dont have an idea about. So to understand the characteristic of the whole society by examining their role models is not plausible. For example politicians, many of the politicians are role models for people. Only some part of their life is known to the people. General people believe the things the politician has done and accept him as role model but they dont know the correct background behind the role model. Each person has some bad and good habits or features people associate their qualities or hardships with a person and consider him his hero. So to examine the hero and if some negative aspects of his life is found and associating the negative aspects as the character of society is incorrect.

Secondly a society is comprised of various people. Different people have different role models. So judge the character of a society by its role models is difficult. Different people in a society might have contrasting role models so it is not possible to understand a character of society by its role models.

To conclude to judge the characteristics of a society from the role models and heros it chooses is not the correct approach. All the people of the society should be examined and understood. There many people in the society which are hidden gems or heros even those should be considered to be examined.