Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Abraham Lincoln, a figure considered as the quintessential president of the United States, is ubiquitously known to represent the very core of America’s values of freedom and equality. Today, his principles and ideals are cherished throughout the world, and at often times, portrayed as a paradigm leader of a nation who was voted by American citizens who knew the faults and absurdity of slavery. Yet, his reverence is also shadowed by the fact that half the United States was not ready for the emancipation proclamation- to an extent to where that half almost seceded from the country. While it is true that Lincoln reflected the American people’s idea that slavery should be abolished, it is important to note that not everyone were prepared to do so. Only by understanding this dichotomy in public opinion of slavery can one truly see the reason why tens of thousands of men died during the civil war. In order to fully understand a society of its respective time period, one cannot simply rely on examining that society’s heroes and role models that only represent a part and not a whole.

Historical figures that are now revered in American History, including John F Kennedy, Martin Luther King, are cherished as such due to their similarities of social values of today, but not necessarily of their time. In fact, due to the unique character of these historical figures are they recognized. With the advent of communism in Asia and Latin America, some Americans were frightful of the rise and influence of communism worldwide- to the extent where families would build fallout shelters in their homes. Others, although cautious of the possibility of a third World War, maintained composure and equanimity. When the Cuban missile crisis hit, it was due to this composure and not violent reaction that resulted in a peaceful resolution between the Soviet Union and the United States. News reports of the ticking doomsday clock and the fearful eyes of families who cowed under the emergency broadcasts were the face of Americans of the 1970s, but not of the face of leaders who successfully negotiated a truth with an adversary. It was only after the death of John F Kennedy when Americans respected his leadership, despite how short it was. The highest ideals of peace and consolidation by leaders during the Cold War betrayed the dread and anticipation of most Americans during that time.

Other times, historical figures that are esteemed now are never guaranteed to continue that respect in the future. Although some ideals are bound to be eternal, most are always susceptible to change. It is without question that the opinion poll of a president varies through time during his time in office. But even in a span of hundreds and thousands of years, heroes of yesterday are quickly forgotten, or even reviled as treacherous dictators. Who is to say that Adolf Hitler and Stalin were not regarded heroes by some disillusioned citizens of their respective nation? Looking at Hitler’s rise in popularity and his “heroic” image on Germany television, one might even construe that Hitler was representative of Germany. In fact, however, many German citizens, including Albert Einstein-despite the fact that he was Jewish-, were generally disappointed by the fact that Germany was heading towards fascism. Many Germans fled from the country, and some were even welcomed by the arms of the United States government. Hitler may have been representative of the some Germans, but his successful campaign was also that of controlled propaganda that swayed public opinion. His ideals of Assyrian supremacy and national pride may somewhat reflect the guile of German citizens who followed his rule, but solely examining him in order to understand the German society is limited in scope.

While it is true that a hero or role model can reflect one side of a society, it is not the determinant in comprehending the multifaceted nature of that society. Instead, scrutinizing a country as a whole and finding out why that leader is highly respected during that contemporary time may belie the truth about its people and ideals. Considering the chance that the hero may even be disregarded as irrelevant and even preposterous in the future, one may find betters answers elsewhere.