Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There is no doubt that people have and look up to heros and role models with the hope of becoming like them someday. With that being stated, I partially agree with the recommendation.

People are believed to be agents of change; positive or negative. A hero and role model are ideally capable of being emulated by the people that look up to them. This “rub-off” effect deposits a major influence on the way people think, act, respond to situations etc. for example, the author and economist, Chimamanda Adichie and Ngozi Iweala respectively represent nothing short of hope for Nigerian women who wish to be as powerful, intellectual, influential, wealthy, highly respected, globally recognized as they are. This is the case for all role models and followers representing different aspects that make up a society. Conversely, a badly-presented Hero will rub off negatively on the people of the Society and as such will portray similar characters.

Furthermore, in terms of opportunity for growth and development of a Society, the highest ideals; role models and Heroes contribute to the extent to which a society develops, attracts foreign attention, investments, etc. Take as an instance, Tony Elumelu is a top role model in Nigeria, he is worthy to be called one, he is of good character, honest, reliable, and earns great remarks from associates that come in contact with him, Tony Elumelu has over the years, brought the attention of foreign investors to develop entrepreneurship in Africa, he has also pulled resources towards the growth of different individuals and their businesses in Nigeria. This is so because people trust him enough to want to impact through him. When people receive so much support from role models and heroes, they will want to imbibe that attitude of impacting others in their lives. On the other hand, a society that models a badly-presented hero will not likely attract growth opportunities from external sources nor have members that portray “act of support” as a catalyst to societal growth.

Looking at a different point of view, there are cases where the heroes and role models are not really worthy of emulation, members of the Society know this and frown greatly at it. For example, heroes that indulge in mischievous and corrupt deeds or those that do the same from behind the scenes deceiving followers until the truth surfaces. This case is an exception for societies where their men and women do not portray the character of their so-called heroes and role models.

In conclusion, individuals’ character can be easily influenced by people around them, the environment, unforeseen circumstances and to crown it all; the people they look up to.