Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that the best way to understand the character of society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models, doesn't seems to be cogent. The claim is in fact undermined by the reason itself. As evident from the reason that Heroes and role models are often portrayed to reveal society's highest ideals, so they tend to ignore the other side of the coin which is equally important to understand.

A society is an eclectic mix of different people, different beliefs. Some of the belief may be wrong and some may be good. However, role models are often viewed as one having impeccable character. Although, they can be seen as reflection of society's character to some extent but cannot be taken to determine the society's character as a whole. To illustrate, A hero can be someone who fights against crime, who helps poor people by giving them money and food, helps children by underwriting their school expenses but does it mean that all the people in society are so much concerned towards this issue ? There may be few who might care but saying that society as a whole is very generous and full of people who believe in giving and helping others may not be true.

Also, heroes and role models are shown as flawless and their character tend to incline more towards the positive side. No one wants to choose a hero who's having a flaw in his character. As such, we will tend to overlook certain aspects of the society, if we take their character as a measure to judge society as a whole. To better find out the society's nature, the better option is to examine some if not all, members of society and to look at society from a wide angle.

Furthermore, a society is better understood not by its few role models but by its common, prosaic people. Role models are often showed to show the society's ideals, the thing that a society wishes to achieve. For instance, consider a small town with rampant graft and venal officials. Now, apparently, such society wants to be free of corruption. Now, if, in this situation an official came out to be like a hero who daringly exposed few politicians who tried to bribe him to do something illegal, will obviously be viewed as role-model or hero for others. But still the question is, can we still judge or examine the society's character by this person only ? Emphatic No !

That society can have still many corrupt officials. Some of them may get influenced by this hero but not all. Hence, that prevalent venal officers and corruption will still be present and hence, portraying the society's character as a clean, free of corruption is obviously not right.

In a nutshell, our role models cast light on what we want to achieve, what should be the ideal characteristic. I feel having a role model is more like having a figure that we should follow for better society and harmony. They must be viewed as people emitting characteristics that everyone in the society must follow. However, since people may get influenced and may not, so, these role models in no way should be seen from the perspective of understanding the society's character.