A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement promulgating that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, doesn't seems to be cogent. Different students have varied interest and different capabilities. Also, colleges offers eclectic courses. So, the decision of making all students to go through the same curriculum may not a very prudent decision.

It is very apparent that different children are born with different capabilities. Some students are very good in mathematics while some are in English or in some other subjects. As such, making all students to study the same curriculum may not produce very fruitful results. Instead, the concerned authority should devise curriculum in a way that it takes care of the fact that different children are having different capabilities which are innate to them and attempt to create curriculum suited to the intellect of students. Say, if someone is not so good in Mathematics then he/she must be put in a curriculum that teaches mathematics in a very detailed manner, focusing on all concepts with myriad of questions, so that the student develops good confidence in it. However, if, a student is good in mathematics then the syllabus should take care of this fact and must be having questions of high standard or at least of some difficulty level so as to further enhance his/her ability. This scheme will help a student to gain more in depth knowledge in the subject as well as bring down the gaps in understanding, if he/she is having any.

Furthermore, student A interest may not be same as the interest of student B. Student A may be fond of drawing while B can be having strong predilection for English. If, this is the case, then how the same curriculum for student A and student B is going to help them to pursue the subjects or fields of their interest ? Instead, there should be proper analysis or some good questionare that must be given to students to elicit their interest and fields they want to pursue in college and then according to this, a curriculum suited to their interest should be assigned to them. This will help them to become a connoisseur of their field as having a strong foundation is one of they key ingredients in achieving great success.

To support further, designing the same curriculum for all students is an extremely arduous task. In a very vast country with amalgam of different culture and people, it is almost close to impossible in creating a universal curriculum for all. Such a pattern demands various factors to be considered and with so many convoluted dependencies; if someone even tries to make out something then it's sure that such curriculum will miss many important and indispensable things which may even prove to be deleterious to some students.

To sum up, the recommendation to create the same curriculum is not a healthy decision. Student's interest , their capabilities and numerous factors are there that are equally vital as well. A single curriculum for all will surely may not able to subsume all these points, hence, the decision is in no way a very wise decision.