Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement put forward an argument that a society's character can be determined by observing the role models or heros that the people of that society follows because role models are the ideals of the society. But the claim misses some specific point and does not hold true in every situation.

Examining the role model of the society does not give the clear indication that people of that society actually follows the moral values or principles of that person. People can get influenced by their role models in different moments of life but following their axioms in routine life cannot be predicted. Thus, on the basis of this argument we cannot conclusively understand the characteristic of the society.

Secondly, a society can be constituted by the poeple of different ethinicity and different people can have different role models. It is possible that majority of people can have some common role models and heros but in this case also, we are missing the minority, which does not actually give the conclusive picture of the values that people of the society believe. This ratio can be 60:40 or 90:10 in forming majority and in some cases it is also possible that no clear majority is observed. Thus, in that case also the argument fails. Thus, even if majority of people do get influenced by the role model but actual character of people of society cannot be predicted.

For example, in USA majority of Afro-Americans will find Barack Obama as their role model but at the same time majority of native Americans can prefer Clinton or Donald Trump as their heros. Thus, within the society their can be variations among the people.

Thirdly, even if any person do get influenced by the role model but it does not imply that person will follow most of their traits, values, principles and teachings etc. Different people can be influenced by different characteristics of their role model for different reasons. For example, in one society people can find Charle Chaplin as their a great hero but it not necessary that society like comedy or the people of that society are very jovile in their nature. In different situations and time people can appreciate different leaders and role models. For example, when people want entertainment they some times can prefer Charle Chaplin and some other time they can prefer other.

Though, role model of the society can tell us big picture about the society's characteristics but not the whole and exact picture of it.