Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heros or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every society is generally made up of people. And every society is different due to the varying characteristics of the people. In general, I agree with the argument that people have a tendency to follow, or learn from the heroes or role models of the society, and some of them may even hope that they could be one of them one day. This phenomenon is most obvious in schools, where teachers educate students to study from history and learn from the role models, like leaders of a country, or some of the brave soldiers, or even some other famous people, and so on.

It is clear that if a society chooses role models that are positive and whom carry beneficial values, the society will be more likely to be just, nice and friendly. For example, as the students in the United States are more educated these days, people learn from role models like the past presidents, and people learn to work hard and be a gentleman. On the other hand, people are also attracted to innovation and techonological advancement, and role models like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are always studied and discussed. As a result, the United States are generally imaged as a nice country, full of warm and educated people where they are also into technology and innovation.

There are also negative characters in the society where one can realise. For example, women are portraited as housewives in order to be decent in Japan. Even role models of women are the ones who should stay home and cook. They glorified the housewives through television programs, for example. In schools, cooking classes are only for women and not for men. Mostly only men are linked with the idea of being brave and being the one to support the family. As a result, there is a huge gender inequality problem in Japan. Women are forbidden to carry out a lot of work, for example, some of the restaurants are only for men, and women are forbided to go in. Negative characteristics, therefore, can also be studied with the same method.

And in even more extreme cases, there are recent studies on interviewing elementary and high school kids of China on what they want to pursue as a career when they grow up. As a result, more than 30% of the kids say they want to be famous tv stars and even online stars so that they can earn a lot of money. Putting aside the correct social values, this phenomenon is understandable; most of the media in China report stars and famous people and report how much money they make as a star. Techonology, or even scientists are mostly ignored; they are not taught to work hard in order to support their own living, but they are taught on how to make the most income and do the least work as possible. If we look at these role models in China, for instance, these tv stars and actors, we can have a general idea of how this community works.

In general, the characteristics of the heroes and role models are significantly reflecting the characteristics of the society in general. People pursue these values, ideas and opinions through these role models. It affects the most on young people, when they still do not have the ability to differentiate between the good and the bad, and they are always exposed to these role models frequently. If we study these role models selected from the society, we can basically grasp the main characteristics of this particular society.