Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I mostly agree with the claim that it is not possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero for the stated reason. However, It is presumptuous that the reputation of anyone subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished. Moreover, there are some instances where this media attention could prove fortuitous.

Our Role models are an indispensable part of balanced development of the society and today in the age of media, they are highly accessible to the common people. Their private life is constantly under scrutiny. Media probes into the smallest of the incident in their lives.They are kept on the pedestal overnight and the fame is just ephemeral. The rapid development of mass media has affected the quality of the report coverage about celebrities and role models. This precipitous rise and fall is the reason for the temporary stardom. We can consider the trial of Mr.Johnny Depp vs Amber heard and its mass coverage. It kept both the parties facts out in the open but at the same time subjected both sides to extensive probing and scrutiny resulting an unwarranted media trial. But it will be naïve of us to consider the media scrutiny is only destructive of someone s reputation.

Media scrutiny keeps the transparency intact between those in higher positions and the common people. In the above argument only the reports and news about celebrities and famous personalities are considered. We can consider likes of wealthy people like Elon musk

Whose immense contribution is discussed and disseminated in public forums. Or Mr Mukesh Ambani, whose not only tremendous amount of wealth and successful company are discussed but also is charitable works and contribution towards his country is noted in the media coverage.

Finally whether the media makes or mars someone’s reputation is purely circumstantial, and we as consumers of this media should only make a judgement after careful analysis of the available information. Hence to purport that media scrutiny mars the reputation of a person is an unjustifiable reason to not consider someone as a hero.