Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In our society, it is considered that the sole purpose of the government and politicians is to ensure the welfare of the general public by making the right policy decisions. These officials are expected to derive knowledge from the actions of the past members of the goverment, observe changes in economy of the country, and make laws to enforce safe and healthy living standards for the citizens. thus the common masses trust them to make informed decisions, as they are assumed to have better judgement and perspective to see the greater good. But, do government experts and politicians always uphold this trust of the common people?

It is quite evident that politicians and elected members of the government are considered vastly knowledgeable and erudite when it comes to making decisions that influence the lives of the common people. There have been multiple instances throught the world that have shown us that these officials have failed at times to make the right decisions for the welfare of the general public. Firstly, we often presume that politicians or the government, while making such a decision, try to look at it from perspectives of people from all sections of the economy. This has been unfounded a number to time. For example, many taxes are levied on fossil fuels such as petroleum and diesel making it a hard hit for the people of the middle class. Goods and Service taxes on essential commodities often make these unaffordable to the millions of people surviving below the poverty line. These taxes, which are considered to be benefician for the overall economy of the country, often push the common masses to a lower standard of life.

Secondly, we have seen the government often joining hands with the private sector companies, promising huge profits, building factories and industries at the expense of the environment. Forest areas areas are often cleared for this purpose, making it baneful not only for the ecosystem of the place, but also the local residents. These people are rarely compensated or provided with better living opportunites. Thus, in such cases the situation of the native people of that area are completely ignored but the goverment while making policy decisions.

In conclusion, we can say that policticians and goventment experts often do not scruyinise their decisions from the perspectives of the common people. Although promised to be exteremly beneficial, these decions have had a devastating effects on people living below the middle economic class. We have witnessed the common people and social worker protesting against such decision, as seen in the millions of agriculrurists rioting against Farmers' laws in India,vprotests by the lgbtq+ community in many countries, and protests against anti-abortion laws in USA. Hence, we can infer that the goverment and politicians, while making decisions must take into account the perspective and the consequences it would bring upon the common masses, and involve their opinions in the decision making process.