Claim: Major Policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better and perspective than do members of general public.

In any democratic country, policies are enacted in law if and only if the members of parliament have favoured in majority to do so. Policies are made to maintain various aspects like law and order, maintain security, preserve wildlife and many more. Whenever, a law or policy is made it should always favour to general public without discriminating on the basis of caste or religion. Policies which ensure the development of country, raise standard of living or citizens, eliminate poverty and make sure environment is safe will always be supported by citizens while in contrast the policies like encouraging discrimination on caste will be discouraged. Policy maker are mostly the citizens of respective country and the knowledge about policy making is not learned but earned by experience.

Sometimes, government creates a policy which favours citizens like European Union's Law of Data Protection which prevents foreign companies to send European Union citizens data in any foreign country. This law enforce to keep citizens data on European soil only just to make sure safety and privacy of citizens.

There are numerous other example like above mention one of same kind is Saudi Arabia's removal of law which restricts women from driving, going to movie theatre and roaming alone in public. This law was acting as barrier between women and their freedom and it was scrapped just for good future. Now, women can do anything which they want publicly just to encourage women on becoming independent and contributing their knowledge in future of country. Some laws or policies are not obsolete and need to be modified according to requirement or scrapped.

While in some cases the policies are created without taking people's consent into consideration just like India which went ahead on made a policy to eliminate union of traders for crops. The members of parliament didn't took people consent into consideration enforced on people. After, people got to know about about they furiously acted against it to make sure the law is rescind in upcoming days.

Laws or policies are needed to be made by politicians and other government experts but only after having discussion with the general public's representative on local level. Eventually the politicians and government experts were ordinary citizens before having the rank in government. If a person is not knowledgeable it doesn't mean that his/her view don't matter. I do partially agree with claim and reason due to above mentioned reasons and analysis.