Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

History is always about past events, constructed in the light of historical documents, accounts and artifacts. While interpretation of history requires imaginative creativity, it is not the sole requisite to learn history. I mostly disagree with the claim and my reasoning will be dissimilar to the basis of this claim.

The claim may be based on the assumption that as we cannot experience the past we must rely on our imaginary vision to virtually visualize the past and interpret the historical happenings in that way. However, as history is about real events, only imagining may mislead us to articulate in such a way that the outmost result will be a fiction rather than history. For instance, upon observing the remaining artifacts of an old palace, we may indicate about the reign of any famous emperor in that place. The emperor may be a character of fiction or folklore being told from generation to generation of any particular area. If in this case we don’t do further examination, research and only interpret relying on creativity, the it will be a fabrication, not historical learning.

In contrast to the claim, history learning requires extensive training, research methodology, and way of unfolding the cryptic information not the creativity only. For example, we may learn historical facts from many artifacts, used commodities of ancient people, cryptic messages written on papyrus. Here excavation and dating technology, knowledge about ancient language are much more cardinal than our creativity. Historian knew about Moynamoti and Buddha bihar in Kumilla, Bangladesh by excavation and examining the artifacts present in the bihar and fort and then doing extensive research and matching with previous accounted history. Here creativity is none a vital player.

Finally, history always must truth, should be interpreted on the basis of solid proof otherwise debate will emerge among the historian. Human possesses different level of creativity so historian also. If they apply their own creative idea and interpret any historical event in their own way, then there is modicum of possibility of convergence. To uphold uniform idea and to learn history one should use their learning and training before creativity. Creativity always act as helping one not main condition to succeed.