"Colleges and universities should offer more courses on popular music, film, advertising, and television because contemporary culture has much greater relevance for students than do arts and literature of the past."

The speaker asserts that universities’ educational syllabus should include more courses about contemporary arts and media since these are of higher popularity and efficiency among the students in comparison with past arts and literature. While the speaker overlooks some valuable benefits of the historic and previous arts, on balance I tend to agree that students require more knowledge about the current movement of art and culture for some important respects.

Undoubtedly, exploring and learning about our past events and history in any aspect of life especially arts and media would provide us a wide fundamental knowledge to establish our today findings upon. In other words, we should know about the origin and development process of arts and culture through the history to have a more profound understanding about them. In addition, we would be able to learn erudite information about the past failures and difficulties and adopted measures by wise people and artists to compensate for that problems. And therefore, we can benefit from their intelligent and effective trials in hard situations or even from their mistakes.

However, I concede that after acquiring general knowledge about the past events in the field of arts and media it would be essential to put more concentration on the contemporary features and needs of these fields of study. As we know, every society require to keep up with prevailing trends and demands not only to survive, but also to prosper.

To make it more clear, students should have the chance to assuage their keen desires and ambitions for practicing the new and more attractive things in their art field to evoke their creativity and innovation which are key factors in progress and success of any field of art. And obviously, these achievements are the result of acquiring special knowledge and specific skills through learning novel information and subjects in contemporary art and media courses.

In sum, historic and past courses about arts and media should be succinctly offered for the students to expand their horizon and awareness. Nonetheless, the administrators should not disregard the fact that they must pay deep attention on contemporary characteristics and developments of arts to meet the pressing desire and requirements of the current societies and the individual populace.